Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for discs

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-07-2015, 07:32 PM
Free Member

If you could take your time and give me some guidance/direction, it would be much appreciated.

Which mpeg-2 encoder/program would you recommend that has the best output quality settings from a HD file to a (targeted dvd5) .m2v file?

I've been encoding for nearly 10 years or more and i'm just trying to get some feedback on which route I would take. From what i've read of your posts, it sounds like you know your stuff.

Any info would be much appreciated

This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-07-2015, 07:45 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
The best I've ever used? Easy. MainConcept Reference 1.6.

MainConcept 2.x was excellent as well, but far more confusing to use. And sometimes I saw oddities in the encoding of both H.264 and MPEG-2. I wasn't fond of it.

Adobe Media Encoder (AME) was based on the MainConcept SDK. AME has a custom front-end, but MC powered it. Sony uses it as well for Vegas.

I forget the exact year, but MainConcept was then sold to Rovi, which also owned DivX. Reference was renamed to Rovi TotalCode, though the SDK is still called MainConcept. Nothing really changed on it from MC 2.0 aside from the name.

The company was German, but is now mainly Russian. No idea what happened to the MC encoding team.

Last year, Rovi sold off the encoders to venture vulture capitalists: http://www.rovicorp.com/company/pres...usinesses.html