Go Back    Forum > Digital Publishing / Web Sites > Web Hosting

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-04-2015, 07:58 AM
Free Member

I apologize, because I am all too aware I'm one of those very annoying people who do not even understand the basics of something, and yet am asking for help :/ I promise, I've tried to make myself as informed as I could! Still running into barriers, though.

I'm not a techie! But I do like to be informed, and thus when I started lightly researching creating a 'personal' website, I went in deep (even when I could't understand half of the terminology). I'm glad I did though, because I discovered exactly what I had suspected - most of those top 10 lists are BS and there were money mongers behind many of them (both through the companies themselves - a lot owned by EIG, as well as many of the bloggers promoting those companies).

So I do appreciate websites like this one, that seek to inform people in ways that look out for individuals who might otherwise be 'naive'.

So here is the annoying part. I have read some of the posts here, but all of it is too technical for me (or at least, becomes too technical!). So if someone would be so kind as to give me some suggestions, or at least point me in the right direction, it would be much appreciated!

I've had various blogs, usually through wordpress.com or tumblr.com and even - back in the day - livejournal.com. These all worked well for putting out content - but despite my technical challenges, I'm never happy to leave things to pre-determined templates. I also don't like not being able to make something my own. As time has gone on, I've also been frustrated with the restrictions such sites have. So here is what I want from a website, and some other relevant information: