03-16-2015, 08:12 PM
Free Member

First, thanks for the great site and all the free information.

I've "upgraded" to premium, you guys certainly deserve it.

Some background info, I run a computer services company in Cascais, Portugal, and have in the past worked with video with less than satisfying results, but I'm not a complete novice. We work mostly with photography and film. But I do have a large collection of VHS, VHS-C and betamax tapes that I would like to convert to digital, and I'd also like to resume providing this as a paid service assuming I can do it with quality. 99.9% would be PAL system.

I do already own some equipment (all PAL):

Panasonic NV-HS1000 SVHS (owned from new, but longtime in storage, probably very clogged with dust)
JVC HR-DD857MS PAL/NTSC (also owned from new, also probably "dusted")

based on information from this site, I bought:

JVC HR S9600 S-VHS (supposedly in good condition, still waiting for it to arrive)
Sony SL-HF950 super Betamax (same as above).

I also own a CYP-CDM800 video system converter which supposedly has an internal TBC.

As for capturing hardware, I have a Blackmagic Intensity Pro (never used ) and an Hauppauge WinTV HVR-2200 which I use regularly. I also have an hauppauge HD PVR.

I currently edit with VideoRedo TV suite.

I would be interested in trying to capture directly to MPEG2 with as much quality as humanly possible, as human resources to capture to uncompressed AVI and then recompress would make the cost/benefit less interesting. That would be available as a premium if I could justify the extra cost.

Am I on the right track? What do I absolutely need / should get?

I'm in the process of cleaning the VCRs I already own, all local repair shops are no longer working so it'll have to be a d-i-y project, but I should have the first results soon.

Thanks again for any help.
Luis
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-17-2015, 09:22 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
Quote: