Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
04-20-2015, 07:14 PM
Free Member

I've been using the JVC HR-S7600EU VCR for many years. It has that great green "magic button" called "Digital TBC/NR". I've been extremely happy with it so I've always enabled it on most of my tapes.

Now I've been using some Panasonic VCR's lately (NV-FS200 and NV-HS960) that has two buttons. One for "TBC" and one for "NR". I always enable the TBC, but I'm not so sure about the "NR" button? I think it looks good in most cases, but in some cases I think it creates unwanted effects, especially after applying filters in post. This was never an issue with the JVC TBC/NR button.

So I Wonder; Is there a rule of thumb of when to use the Panasonic 3D DNR button and when to leave it off?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-20-2015, 09:12 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,308 Times in 982 Posts
"NR" on the AG-1980 is always on with the tbc. The "NORM" and "EDIT" settings do nothing -- Panasonic never programmed circuitry into those controls. Panasonic's denoiser isn't as aggressive as JVC's and inflicts less damage.
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: hysteriah (04-21-2015)
04-21-2015, 04:14 AM
Free Member

Thank you very much for your input, sanlyn

Hmmm... I wonder if maybe the PAL model is very different from the NTSC model on these units? ...cos there is a great difference when switching the NR button between "ON", "OFF" and "EDIT" on my Panasonic NV-FS200. When turned "ON", there's noticably less noise/grain but it becomes a bit blury in some scenes. In "EDIT" mode, it is sharper, more grainy and with richer colors than in "OFF" position.

But the biggest difference happens with my Panasonic NV-HS960. It has a "3D DNR" button. This makes a HUGH difference when turned on. Some times it's good, some times it's "bad".