Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-11-2016, 09:57 AM
Premium Member

I am in the beginning stages of capturing old VHS tape to digital format using Virtualdub. I have been given great advice and support to this point. I am new to Virtualdub. The capture process seems to be very straight forward so far. What I would like to do is take out all of the gaps in the tapes from when the camera sat too long and does not start were it left off. I know that it is possible to open the captured video and cut the unwanted portions out. I know that I can also keep certain clips and save them out separately. Over the weekend I captured a video. It was about 2 and a half hours and the captured video file size was around 60 GB. It was uncompressed using the Huffyuv codec. I clipped some of the gaps out. About 20 minutes of footage. When I saved it, Virtualdub re-encoded (about 2 hours to save) everything and the file size ballooned to 222 GB. What am I doing wrong or missing?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-11-2016, 10:21 AM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motleymongoose View Post
Over the weekend I captured a video. It was about 2 and a half hours and the captured video file size was around 60 GB. It was uncompressed using the Huffyuv codec. I clipped some of the gaps out. About 20 minutes of footage. When I saved it, Virtualdub re-encoded (about 2 hours to save) everything and the file size ballooned to 222 GB. What am I doing wrong or missing?
If you used huffyuv during capture, the captue was compressd -- but huffyuv is lossless compression, not lossy encoding, so that was the correct way to capture. 60GB for 2.5 hours for lossless huffyuv sounds about right, which would be about 1/3 the size of a completely uncompressed file.