02-01-2016, 09:19 AM
Premium Member

I am now capturing beautiful Huffyuv video in avi on a great system. Thank you lordsmurf.

I am now ready to transfer all this great footage over to various formats so that I can view it and share it with others. Digging around in the forum I came across the following:

"I would capture Huffyuv, then encode out an interlaced MPEG-2 @ 15mbps (Blu-ray spec) archive. Perhaps even MPEG-2 422@HL encode. Then create an H.264 stream to share, probably using QTGMC on that copy to deinterlace. It's more work, but long-term easier to work with. I'd only save Huffyuv for anything that later needs to be restored or heavily edited (not just scissors editing).

Read more: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...igitizing.html

First question. What program should I use to encode to all of these different formats?

Second question. Because I am new to all of this terminology, could I get a translation in lay mans terms what what each of these formats are used for?

Third question. QTGMC?

I would like to be able to multiple things with the captured video. I want to be able to watch the captured video unedited on my tv. I would like to be able to burn blu-ray disks to share with family. I would also like to watch this same video on my iPad or any other portable device. And finally I would like to at some point be able to cut and paste all or portions of the captured video into Final Cut Pro X for editing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Motleymongoose
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

02-01-2016, 12:00 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Congratulations, and good work. Your questions cover a lot of territory!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motleymongoose View Post
I am now capturing beautiful Huffyuv video in avi on a great system. Thank you lordsmurf.
I assume you're capturing VHS.

Quote:
I am now ready to transfer all this great footage over to various formats so that I can view it and share it with others.