03-03-2016, 07:21 PM
Free Member

Hi All,
I have some experience in premiere pro in editing and exporting progressive 720p or 1080p. Normally I would export into H264 and create mkv while adding chapters.But need help with the following...

I need to capture some PAL vhs-c home videos in virtualdub using a USB capture device. Then I want to do some editing in premiere pro.
I only plan to watch final video on pc monitor, hdtv plugged as a monitor or on hdtv built in media player from USB. Does that mean I should deinterlace in this case for better visuals although there is some information lost during the process?
I do not see the need to create a DVD unless thats the only way. What could be my final video file options? Mpeg or interlaced (?) h264 made into mkv container or a deinterlaced file of some type.
Thanks in advance.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-05-2016, 01:02 AM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce75 View Post
I have some experience in premiere pro in editing and exporting progressive 720p or 1080p. Normally I would export into H264 and create mkv while adding chapters.But need help with the following...
Experience is helpful. So is familiarity with h264 standard formats. Apparently you don't want any 'spec" format such as standard definition BluRay/AVCHD, DVD, or any of the HD versions of BluRay/AVCHD. None of the "official HD" formats will accept 4:3 video except at 1440x1080 (and only interlaced at 25fps, not progressive 25fps); or 4:3 standard def 720x576 at 25fps interlaced DVD. Deinterlaced 50fps or progressive 25fps are not valid for DVD, SD-BluRay, HD 720p, 1440x1080, or 1920x1080. 1280x720p is valid at 50fps deinterlaced -- but is 16:9 only.