Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-20-2016, 12:18 PM
Free Member

Hi there, everybody! Lordsmurf, please, please help me out! I need to capture about 40 vhs tapes, if possible in a lossless way (my mother passed away recently, I want to preserve those tapes showing her from the evils of time passing by, and some tapes are already pretty old) or anything very near (and IF I could IMPROVE the video quality, man, that would be TOTALLY awesome!!!!) if possible recording everything in Blu ray format. I'm a completely NOOB on capturing. I have and old ATI AIW 8500 dv, but not a compatible computer to connect it. All I have now is a I3 4gb ram Hdd 2tb notebook and two vcr's, a s-vhs philips and a quasimode jvc model. Please, I know nothing, a step by step guidance would be so appreciated!!! Thank you SO much in advance, and God bless us all!!! All the best!

Last edited by Bruxo; 09-20-2016 at 12:20 PM. Reason: Grammar
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-20-2016, 03:47 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
You'll need an external TBC, regardless of what you do. (BTW: I have 2 for sale in the marketplace forum.)
Which Phillips S-VHS VCR?

For capture, 3 options:

1. Build an AGP desktop for this. You already have the ATI AIW card (hardest and most expensive part), so all you really need is the main guts of a system: motherboard, CPU, RAM, power supply, SATA/IDE HDD, audio card. eBay is your friend, and will probably be reasonable. Even local thrift stores can be great places for older AGP systems.

2. Send them here, let us do it. It's only 40 tapes. Contact us.