Free Member

Hello guys,
I would like to buy good vintage camera, what it need to have:
- old looking lens, like 90's,
- recorder on tapes video8 or hi8
- easy way to copy a movie to a computer
- stablilization
- good sound quality

Could you recommend me something? I saw some Sony Handycams in internet but there is a lot of models and I don't have idea with one I should choose.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

05-22-2017, 02:57 PM
Free Member

i'm no expert in cams but forget analog try DV or HDV cams
05-22-2017, 03:04 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
If you shoot vintage analog, I'd suggest only doing Hi8.

Next choice is DV -- though I don't consider digital to be "vintage".

When getting Hi8, be sure to get a cam with TBC. You won't find much in the way of stabilization, as that's largely a post-analog feature.

All cameras have crap sound quality. It's mono (even "stereo" since it's single directional).

Of all the analog formats, Hi8 tends to be the most enjoyable. You need an external TBC, but that's it. Be sure to check it for good alignment, and you ideally want to capture immediately after shooting -- just in case alignment is off, and failing over time.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
05-22-2017, 06:29 PM
Premium Member

Consider a low end Sony Handycam Digital-8 camcorder. Many of them had the same 1/6" CCD that their later Hi-8 camcorders had so you still get that "low end" look but without the hassle of analog. All HandyCams from that era had SteadyShot image stabilization.

The following units are usually cheap since they lack analog playback capability (many people buy D8 units to transfer analog 8mm to digital formats).

-Sony DCR-TRV250
-Sony DCR-TRV260
-Sony DCR-TRV265
-Sony DCR-TRV280
05-23-2017, 06:57 AM
Free Member

hmm, thank you guys for answers,