Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-30-2018, 10:35 AM
Free Member

So I am VERY VERY new to analog restoration. To be honest, I didn't know there WAS any way to restore or make analog tapes look better (I figured that only applied to film medium like 8mm reels). So to start:

I have 15 or so Video8 and Hi8 tapes, plus several VHS tapes (we either never had the master for those, or sadly the master was recorded over) spanning from 1986 to 2000. The main body of tapes span from June of '90 to December '00 and were all shot on the same video camera, a Sony HandyCam purchased new in June 1990 (I can get the model number if anyone needs it). I no longer have any Hi8 video camera to work with, just the tapes, DVD copies, and in the case of 4 films, MP4 Copes. Later today I will upload to Youtube what I feel is my most precious of the tapes as it captures the happiest time of my childhood so you have an idea of what I am dealing with. The original film was shot between 4-26-94 and 11-23-95. I will be uploading it from the MP4 copy.

My main concern is to remove grit, grain, and improve the crispness and detail/contrast of the video as well as try to fix, if possible, sequences shot in very low light areas which as such have a lot of grain.

Video in question in two parts:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qhqQabQ8-8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkrEECs7vro
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-30-2018, 06:01 PM
Free Member

Try this: http://www.fbmn-software.com/en/exposure
07-30-2018, 06:52 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Confused about what you're requesting. Do you want someone's advice on how to clean up a lossy, blocky, noisy YouTube reencode, or do you want something more appropriate for your original video? Filters for YouTube and filters for an original capture won't be the same. Besides, cleaning up YouTube reencodes is a waste of time.