Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-13-2019, 10:00 AM
Free Member

INTRO
Hi everyone, I'm planning to convert a few hundred mixed VHS tapes—some my own, some belonging to family and friends, all probably home videos. As a wedding videographer who does my own post production, I have some equipment and experience I hope will help; that said I understand converting VHS tapes properly requires unique skill, equipment, and knowledge. Thank you dF for helping with the latter; otherwise I'd probably wind up strangling myself with the power cable of a cheap VCR.

Hopefully one day I'll be able to contribute here based on experience to come. Meanwhile, I'm looking for feedback. Please let me know where I'm on the right track and where I clearly need further guidance haha:

EQUIPMENT
Here's what I plan to buy. External TBC and DVD recorder will only be in the chain when needed, to avoid any degradation from unnecessary devices. Everything will be powered through a CP1500PFCLCD:
  1. HR-S9800U and AG-1980: these choices based in part on the VCR buying guide, which lordsmurf informed me is 15yrs old and he no longer recommends the 9800 due to its dynamic drum gear failing and being irreparable. He's selling an SR deck which he stated are now considered equal/superior. Q1: What are everyone's top picks instead of the 9800? Either way I plan to get an AG-1980 as well.

2. TBC-3000: I've yet to find one for sale so might be off the table anyway, and lordsmurf informed me the green AVT-8710 clone 1T unit (aluminum body) he's selling is equally good. Per this post by sanlyn, my primary concern here is "(b) Avoid serious, chronic audio synch problems" as I don't expect to be dealing with retail tapes.