06-09-2019, 07:14 PM
Free Member

Hello forum,
So thankful for my recent discovery of this site and forum. Thank you all for your time and knowledge. I am starting the task of trying to convert all our families old VHS, 8mm, and MiniDV Tapes. I made the mistake of transferring all the 8mm and MiniDV tapes as mpeg-2 and discovered that is not the best way of doing this. Now onto round 2. I’m looking for advice as to not make any more timely mistakes again. I’m sure this topic has been discussed in detail and I am trying to read through all the old forums to gather more information on video capture and editing. There is a lot to read through!

Let me start by telling you the process I’m thinking of following. Please correct me if I am incorrect. I am a definite newbie at video stuff so I apologize in advance for my inexperience and lack of using the proper terms. I’m hoping to get the best quality I can, using the equipment I have. On a tight budget and would like to use what I have, but I fear it may not be a great setup or great equipment.

Equipment/Software Workflow:
For VHS:
1. Toshiba SD-V296-K-TU VHS/DVD combo - Wish I could afford some of the better players such as JVC HR-S9600U but they are a bit over my price range and was able to get this from a friend. This device doesn’t appear to have a TBC and I am having a hard time finding one. Should I try to find one? Or spend the money and find a better player with a built in TBC? The VHS player does not have an S-Video output so I will have to use composite. Unfortunately, only the DVD has an S-video output.
2. Diamond VC500 Capture Device
3. Virtual Dub 1 or 2 - 64bit for capture (not sure which is best, I have downloaded both and have 32bit version of VirtualDub 1)
4. Windows 7 operating system, Intel i7-3840qm CPU, 64-bit, 16GM Ram
5. VirtualDub for editing and color correction after capture
6. Audacity for audio editing, if needed