06-25-2019, 10:28 AM
Free Member

I am new to this, so forgive me. I was recruited by my fam for the task of converting my family's VHS and Hi8/8mm tapes to digital format. I purchased a cheap USB 2.0 video capture device from Amazon: USB 2.0 Audio Video VHS to DVD Converter Capture Card Adapter. I had no issue transferring my VHS to my PC. The included software produces a MPEG file that is ok quality. My problems began when I started transferring the Hi8 tapes. The software converts the video into 4gb MPEG files for future DVD conversion. The issue is that... during conversion, the audio/video is synced fine, but as the conversion continues for longer videos, the audio develops a worsening delay and is eventually 1+ seconds behind and is unbearable to watch/hear. I assume that I just need to use better software/hardware?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-25-2019, 01:54 PM
Free Member

when there is a glitch during capture, frames of video or samples of audio are lost or "dropped", depending on whether its video or audio, that is lost, the sync will drift forwards or backwards

if capturing with intelligent hardware or software the capture is (timed) such that a note can be made in the software that something went wrong, this can be reported by the software to the user .. the hardware or software can also "attempt" to compensate for the problem at the time of capture. one way is by doubling up last good frame to fill in for missing video, another way is by dropping audio samples.. the goal being to maintain the sync.. but this can introduce detectable defects in the capture like motion stutter, or audio pops and clicks.. cheap capture devices do none of these things

an alternative solution to minimize the problem is to pass the audio and video signals through a device to precondition and make them more immune to drops by the capture hardware, a Time Base Corrector is often used for making video signals less likely to be dropped