Quantcast Horizontal interlacing type lines on top 2/3 of screen? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-08-2020, 02:04 AM
cokeshell cokeshell is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi everybody,
I purchased a Panasonic Nv-hd700 yesterday and upon testing with a couple of tapes, I found it had a weird problem.
I haven't tried to capture the tapes yet, as I don't have a capture card yet. In the video I recorded on my phone you can't really see the issue, but in the picture I made, it is more or less visible.

As you can see, the lower third is 'sharp' and the top two thirds are somehwat horizontally distorted.

Any ideas to what could be the problem/solution?

I have tried manual tracking, this does nothing to the problem.
I have also ff and fr, but to no avail.

Thanks and greetings from the Netherlands!
Cokeshell


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20200107_235142_1.jpg (75.2 KB, 13 downloads)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200107_235120.jpg (84.0 KB, 9 downloads)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200107_235139.jpg (52.4 KB, 9 downloads)
Attached Files
File Type: mp4 VID_20200107_233844.mp4 (17.54 MB, 8 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-08-2020, 02:25 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Interlacing is normal, proper, and part of analog consumer formats.
Interlace is not a problem.

I need to see an actual video clip from the capture to confirm.
Not processed.
Not from a cell phone of a screen.

A master capture should be left interlaced. A copy for streaming can be deinterlaced, and using a good method (QTGMC).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-08-2020, 03:28 AM
cokeshell cokeshell is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi lordsmurf, and thanks for your answer!

As I wrote, I don't have a capture card yet, so this is the picture from the vcr to the tv, only a scart cable in between.
I think it is more a defect or adjustment problem within the vcr (especially since this only happens on two thirds of the screen) and was hoping someone would be able to point me in the right direction as to what to adjust, and if that's even possible.

Sincerely, cokeshell.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-08-2020, 03:35 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
You see the interlacing on the TV? Hmm... that is odd.

Cabling may be at play here. European cables have always been fiddly, weird stuff can happen, especially SCARTs.

There's nothing to adjust. Something isn't working.

Process of elimination dictates using that SCART on another VCR to verify if deck or cable.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-08-2020, 07:45 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,399
Thanked 383 Times in 324 Posts
Would also suggest testing it on another TV (or capture device) if possible, wouldn't completely rule out an issue with the TV.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank hodgey for this useful post: lordsmurf (01-09-2020)
  #6  
01-09-2020, 03:46 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodgey View Post
Would also suggest testing it on another TV (or capture device) if possible, wouldn't completely rule out an issue with the TV.
Ah! Good catch! I'd overlooked that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-09-2020, 10:12 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
The video looks like there is bleed through of the vertical deflection voltage to the horizontal signal throwing off the horizontal line sync, causing every other line to shift (i.e., making it early or late). As the scan progresses down the screen the shift reduces correspondingly until it ~nothing at the bottom of the screen. (Or it might be A/C ripple that looks like a sawtooth hitting every other scan line.)

Trying another TV and another player is a good idea.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
lines, nv-hd700, panasonic, vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horizontal lines scrolling up the picture koberulz Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 06-07-2019 02:08 AM
Horizontal/scrambled lines in VirtualDub in preview maltesespaghetti Capture, Record, Transfer 1 03-19-2019 10:52 AM
Interlacing lines shaking, jitter? fujrer Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 09-15-2018 05:30 AM
Horizontal lines/scanlines in captures? (ATI 600 USB) Turok81 Capture, Record, Transfer 8 11-27-2016 08:25 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM