Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools
04-26-2020, 09:27 PM
Free Member

Greetings!

I'm new to this whole process. I recently bought a JVC HR-S5500U on ebay and currently have it attached to an Elgato USB capture card via S-Video (accepts composite and S-Video). I am using VirtualDub to capture raw AV. Before even playing a tape, I noticed that the menu text was jittering. After taking a closer look, it appeared that there was also quite a bit of noise in the output video even though there was no tape playing. I have attached a video of this occurring.

I won't lie, I haven't even bothered to clean the heads on this thing yet. But would that really even matter anyway, since there is no tape being played and yet these issues are still occurring?

Attached Files
File Type: avi video_1.avi (46.92 MB, 33 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-26-2020, 10:57 PM
Free Member

Did you do basic diagnosis? like comparing the composite output noise to the S-Video one? S-Video plug has a flawed design, The cable connector barrel puts too much stress on the S-Video socket so it could be a loose Y pin or cracked soldier joint on the PCB, Also try a different cable and see if it makes any difference. I had to re soldier quite few of faulty S-Video sockets, Luckily S-Video was not popular among the average crowd otherwise every VCR or a video box would have a faulty connector.
04-26-2020, 11:13 PM
Free Member

Attached is a sample of the composite output. It appears that the noise has cleared up at least.

Attached Files
File Type: avi composite1.avi (94.19 MB, 17 downloads)
04-26-2020, 11:25 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts
Do NOT clean heads. It is not a magic cure-all for VCRs, and it is vastly overdone (and ruins the VCRs in the process). Dirty VCR heads primarily result in excess dropouts, and that's it. It doesn't fix whatever ails the VCR.