Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools
05-28-2020, 11:21 PM
Free Member

Hello, I was reaching out regarding a DVD/VCR Combo Unit: Toshiba DVR-620KU.

My in-laws bought it at an estate sale for probably $10 or less. Anyway, when they took it home and plugged it in, a DVD was smashed inside it, it took a while for them to get out. Long story short, the Disc tray will not open/close properly, or even initiate reading discs (the VCR works fantastic, may have never even been used).

So I decided to bust the case open and take a look inside at the disc tray. I only have very minimal experience with electronic repair, very simple gaming unit things. This is my first time with a DVD Player, let along a DVD Recorder/VCR unit. I love VCR's, CRT TV's, and retro games, so I always wanted to one day take a stab at trying to learn to repair them.

So I unplugged the device, opened it up, unplugged everything on the disc tray and pulled it out. I tried to find some videos/photos of this particular unit for a guide, but had no luck. So it's hard to tell what the issue might be. With comparing it to a Samsung DVD/VCR player I have, it seems that this Toshiba Disc Drive, first of all does not open via a rubber track (I think by model design?). Ultimately I think the main issue is that somehow the spindle section is supposed to raise, and the laser is supposed to move back and forth, but neither of those things happen once the disc tray closes shut fully. I'm not sure if it's mechanical or power driven.

I've messed around with it a few days and can get it to either:
1. Both open and close property, but the laser does nothing, disc does not spin
2. Close and spindle does a faint half, spin, laser lights up faintly very instantly, nothing happens except the tray auto opens (but the tray won't open itself)
3. Huge grinding noises when the disc tray closes, then tries to reopen immediately