Quantcast Can you identify AC cord for old Panasonic VTR? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
10-11-2020, 12:10 AM
Formica Formica is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 120
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
I'm playing with an old Panasonic reel to reel VTR but it did not come with a power cord. It's an oddball plug and although I could fashion something to work with it, I'd rather get a proper fitting one. Can anyone identify this type of plug by name or point me to where I might buy one?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Plug.jpg (72.7 KB, 10 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-11-2020, 12:21 AM
Formica Formica is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 120
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Closest I have found is something called "HP Oval round pin" though I am not certain the prong spacing is right:


Attached Images
File Type: jpg wcc-hp-accord-pe_lg.jpg (30.3 KB, 6 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-11-2020, 09:33 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
That looks like a 3-wire grounded power receptacle. Any change you can find the service or user manual for the device. It might list a part number.

The HP cord you showed looks a lot like the Victor-branded power cord used on a 1970's vintage Heath Kit IO 4253 oscilloscope, The line pin spacing is about 0.45" and the center ground pin is offset by about 0.15"

https://www.google.com/search?q=grou...6dw0gy8dWMWrhM

https://www.amazon.ca/Tektronix-Fluk.../dp/B011CAFR3Q
I saw one on ebay for $49.

Finding one will be difficult at best, and being sure of the fit before you buy is an issue as well. It might be lower end cost, and faster, to replace it with a more modern connectors, possibly hard wire in a proper 3-wire cord..
Reply With Quote
The following users thank dpalomaki for this useful post: Formica (10-11-2020)
  #4  
10-11-2020, 12:54 PM
Formica Formica is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 120
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Thanks for the info! I checked the documentation which lists every single capacitor and transistor by name -- including what they do -- but refers only to this part as "AC Power Cord."

I think you're right that it makes more sense to hard-wire a new cord, especially since I have no idea if this thing even works.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
10-11-2020, 09:07 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,907
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
I've seen that before. No idea what it's called.

And on really old gear! Not old as in legacy (still useful), but just plain old.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
10-12-2020, 04:20 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
The only reason to not replace it is if the unit has some collectors value in original condition.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
10-13-2020, 01:06 PM
Formica Formica is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 120
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
I found a spare Mickey Mouse cord as attached and cut slots between the prong receptacles and it works OK. Further research based on what others in the thread have supplied says that in some of the original cables, the hot lead could be located on either side of the plug--so test first.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 21jP-43-YlL.jpg (7.0 KB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
10-13-2020, 01:38 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
Whether or not knowing which lead is line and which is neutral is important would depend on the design of the power supply.

That it was a 3-wire power cord indicates that the chassis is grounded to the power line ground (not the same as the neutral) and implies that it was built to commercial/industrial standards, not consumer.

Could you share the model number with us?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
10-13-2020, 01:44 PM
Formica Formica is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 120
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
The model number of the VTR? It's the NV-3110.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3110-3120.jpg (142.3 KB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic DMR-ES10 does not turn on, identify bad caps? Kocane Video Hardware Repair 21 03-04-2020 03:42 AM
How to identify telecine pulldown? ragu0012 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 04-10-2018 02:21 PM
How to identify the dye used on a DVD media? gamemaniaco Blank Media 6 10-08-2013 09:25 AM
JVC VCR power cord mod (with photos) volksjager Video Hardware Repair 2 10-23-2012 06:00 PM
Need new battery and power cord for Dell Inspiron laptop admin Computers 3 08-16-2011 02:29 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM