Quantcast ATI 600 black screen, how to get picture back? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
05-12-2022, 07:08 AM
brodenn brodenn is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'm not sure what to do, or whether this is repairable, but I'm super confused as to what's happening.

My ATI TV Wonder 600 (Bought from LordSmurf around last year) suddenly is throwing a black screen. It was working perfectly less than a week ago, but today I tried to use it and I can currently only get a black screen. I tried both the composite and the S-Video input, same result. I've tried different cables, no difference. I've also tried on other computers with the same result. I haven't abused this device at all, I've probably only used it around 10 times, but it suddenly won't play ball. There have been some mild graphical 'pops' (for lack of a better word), which just look garbled. Sometimes colour, sometimes not. At the moment, all I see is a black screen. I have also uninstalled and reinstalled drivers to no avail.

I'm using a windows 7 machine to do this, tested windows 10 no difference. No updates done to the PC either.

VirtualDub detects the card fine, I just can't get a picture. Has anyone else experienced this that can help? Or is there some sort of fix I can do?

Last edited by brodenn; 05-12-2022 at 08:04 AM. Reason: More information
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-12-2022, 07:48 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 328 Times in 273 Posts
First thing I would check:

Video -> Capture filter... - > Video Decoder tab. Make sure you have the correct Video Standard set.

To have a working preview/capture, Signal Detected must be a number other than 0.

And it helps to do troubleshooting like this with a "stable" video signal source like a DVD player rather than a VCR.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-12-2022, 07:50 PM
brodenn brodenn is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yep I also checked this, it just says 0 lines in, 0 lines detected. It used to say 576 lines in, but now that's gone. Video standard is unchanged, it's still 25fps PAL B. Also, i've just been feeding the raw external TBC colour bars into it, nothing else.

-- merged --

Quick update, problem persists, but I've just run a quick test with a DVD. Sound is being picked up by the capture card, but video still neglects to show or be captured. Not sure if this info is useful, but I suppose that may rule out the ATI 600 proprietary cable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-13-2022, 03:35 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 345
Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
Virtual Dub 1.9.11 is the best for capturing, according to LS.

You could try AmarecTV to see if it's a VDub problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-13-2022, 03:51 AM
brodenn brodenn is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'll check AmarecTV, worth a look I suppose. I've been using Vdub 1.9.11 the whole time, it's definitely been super consistent (until now I suppose), but I don't think it's a Vdub issue. I'll report back if AmarecTV shows a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-13-2022, 08:44 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,139
Thanked 365 Times in 335 Posts
Sounds like a driver issue to me, You may want to uninstall and install the driver.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-13-2022, 08:50 AM
brodenn brodenn is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
As mentioned in my opening post, I've already tried the drivers, was the first thing I checked. I wish that was all it was!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-14-2022, 09:45 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 328 Times in 273 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brodenn View Post
Quick update, problem persists, but I've just run a quick test with a DVD. Sound is being picked up by the capture card, but video still neglects to show or be captured. Not sure if this info is useful, but I suppose that may rule out the ATI 600 proprietary cable.
Another troubleshooting step. Video Source -> Video Tuner should have video and audio "static" when Video Standard is set to any NTSC mode. (Or black with audio static when set to PAL or SECAM.)

ATI 600 USB - tuner input.PNG
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Reply With Quote
  #9  
05-16-2022, 09:53 PM
brodenn brodenn is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reporting Back. Amarec shows no difference, only I can hear random audio buzz/hiss. Video tuner in NTSC mode still gives absolutely no picture, just solid black. Audio noise is being picked up, but no picture. It's like the capture card is refusing to send any video signal at all.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank brodenn for this useful post: Hushpower (05-17-2022)
  #10  
05-17-2022, 04:58 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,704
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
While uncommon, card failures can happen. I have a ATI 600 USB like this (and many others failed cards). Similar circumstances, several years ago. The user left it to me for R&D. He got a new one from me, and was back in business.

The troubleshoot that time was (the all too typical) lack of UPS for power. The computer case is often a weak link on desktop, along with PSU. What seems to have happened there is that a mild power event (blip, underrage/overrage, not a fail/surge) was absorbed by the case USB ports. The devices plugged into those USB were zapped into oblivion. Printer was off, but cable fried. ATI card was nuked. The motherboard and PSU were "fine", but still suspect. Motherboards (and thus onboard devices) have better than average power protection. But the same cannot be said for external items that plug into it, especially not something as cheap as a case USB port. I never did follow up on it, ultimate decision on motherboard and PSU health. Though it did obviously work again, to capture video. Just suspect.

The only way to troubleshoot something like this is to test against another known-good non-fiddly card. And if you're going to all that trouble, just get another card that you may want to keep. (FYI, that's how I got my 2nd TBC eons ago, needed to test the 1st. I now forget which came first, green AVT-8710 or TBC-1000. And I'm glad I bought it when I did.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
ati 600 usb

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC PAL D-VHS deck DV-in black screen? HBB360 Capture, Record, Transfer 2 12-22-2020 07:26 PM
Why is my picture black and white? MasterBattalion8 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 12-18-2020 11:43 PM
VCR picture good, then jumpy, then green screen? Hushpower Video Hardware Repair 4 11-09-2020 10:17 PM
How to take a screenshot / Take picture of computer screen admin Computers 4 01-27-2019 01:39 PM
Panasonic AG-1970 screen turns black? Chickensalad39 Video Hardware Repair 20 12-14-2018 09:28 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM