Quantcast DVD Player and DVD Recorder Hacks Archive - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-15-2009, 11:10 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
A few DVD "hacks" (firmwares that unlock "secret" features of DVD players or recorders) have been archived at this site. These include hacks for the following machines...

Players:
Recorders:

Hope this can help some folks out there!

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: KeithC (06-06-2010), mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-09-2009, 02:07 AM
zahwani zahwani is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
thank you very much, actually it works, you saved the day!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank zahwani for this useful post: mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
  #3  
04-22-2010, 12:25 AM
majlo majlo is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I tried to break the lock, but after the DVD player spits out the CD-R there isn't any menu in which I could choose a region. There's only the manufacturer's logo. Has anyone ever encountered it? Also, what do they mean by "making sure that the directories stay in order."? I burnt the folder straight from the Desktop. Do you have any idea why it's not working?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank majlo for this useful post: mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
  #4  
04-26-2010, 03:14 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,269
Thanked 1,370 Times in 1,205 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by majlo View Post
I tried to break the lock, but after the DVD player spits out the CD-R there isn't any menu in which I could choose a region. There's only the manufacturer's logo. Has anyone ever encountered it? Also, what do they mean by "making sure that the directories stay in order."? I burnt the folder straight from the Desktop. Do you have any idea why it's not working?
Hi, welcome to the site.

Please note that this page exists as a listing for the "hacks" (custom firmware updates, remote codes, etc) available on this site. If you have a specific question about one of the methods described, you'll need to post your question on that thread.

Otherwise, I'm not really sure which "hack" you're having troubles with.
Thanks.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
  #5  
04-26-2010, 03:19 AM
majlo majlo is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thank you for the hint. I'm new here so I need to get to know my way around.

As for the hack, I had a problem with unlocking LG DVD player series 5000, but it was due to the fact that I burned the CD-R incorrectly (I didn't untick the Use Joliet option). My LG is now up and running, though.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank majlo for this useful post: mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
  #6  
04-26-2010, 04:48 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,269
Thanked 1,370 Times in 1,205 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by majlo View Post
My LG is now up and running, though.
Excellent!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
  #7  
05-03-2010, 12:49 PM
gerry7 gerry7 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Will this crack un lock the jvc xv-tha25
Reply With Quote
The following users thank gerry7 for this useful post: mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
  #8  
05-03-2010, 03:06 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerry7 View Post
Will this crack un lock the jvc xv-tha25
Not sure. It doesn't appear to be on the list.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: mlongue1 (01-26-2011)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General Interest: Entire PC Magazine archive now on Google Books NJRoadfan General Discussion 1 04-01-2012 07:43 AM
LiteOn (Ilo, Daytek, Gateway) DVD recorder hacks admin Video Hardware Repair 28 02-01-2012 06:04 AM
Magnavox DVD player to a Magnavox recorder, won't work lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 0 08-20-2011 09:39 PM
What to buy to archive? Bill Downing Blank Media 4 01-13-2011 02:25 PM
Is this DVD recorder and SVHS player good for capturing VHS/8mm tapes? ramrod Capture, Record, Transfer 1 10-12-2009 10:54 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM