Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-03-2018, 12:51 PM
Free Member

Hello everyone!
I've been looking at the forum for a while now and it's given me plenty of helpful tips in the past. This is my first time posting. I'm looking into getting a Philips VR20D D-VHS deck for really cheap compared to ebay prices (I'm getting it from a local listing website in my country so I don't think the low price has got anything to do with condition) for about 135GBP. The VCR is in great condition, barely any scuffs and scratches and it comes with the original remote control. The only thing I'm worried about is reliability, I've read in quite a few places that you should stay away from Philips decks with TurboDrive but no one ever specifies why. This is a copy of the JVC HM-DR10000 by the way with the only exterior difference being that a window has been added so that you can see the display with the front closed and obviously the TurboDrive mechanism which isn't present in the JVC.
Basically, I'm wondering if the claims that you should stay away from TurboDrive are justified or not, because I'm looking for a nice, feature packed workhorse VCR and this may be it. Also, I currently have a Philips VR969 with the same TurboDrive mechanism which has developped some odd noises in the past few months so that made me worried about the mechanism. On the other hand, I also have another TurboDrive Philips VR700 which works perfectly.
I'm hoping I'll receive a reply soon because I'm moving forward with the purchase in 2-3 days anyways since I really like this VCR and I'm ready to take a risk on it.
Thanks in advance
BTW here's a link to the listing (Bulgarian website, sorry) : https://bazar.bg/obiava-20167557/phi...video-recorder
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-03-2018, 02:24 PM
Premium Member

If its a JVC clone, its going to have the same tape transport as the JVC deck.
10-03-2018, 03:36 PM
Free Member