Quantcast AVToolbox 8710 Defective? Screen pics of bad TBC - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-17-2012, 03:06 AM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Mitsubishi HSHD200U-AVTOOLBOX-AIW 9600XT


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0310120304 (800x600).jpg (127.6 KB, 33 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120304a (800x600).jpg (96.8 KB, 17 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120306 (800x600).jpg (103.5 KB, 15 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120306a (800x600).jpg (43.7 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120307 (800x600).jpg (100.9 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120308a (800x600).jpg (53.9 KB, 12 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120309a (800x600).jpg (81.6 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120310 (800x600).jpg (54.3 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120310a (800x600).jpg (47.7 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120311 (800x600).jpg (70.5 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120312 (800x600).jpg (82.9 KB, 11 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120312a (800x600).jpg (93.0 KB, 11 downloads)
File Type: jpg 0310120315 (800x600).jpg (100.9 KB, 12 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-21-2012, 11:36 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,773
Thanked 1,664 Times in 1,445 Posts
Inconclusive.

It's really hard to tell from those images.
Something is wrong, but I'm not convinced it's the TBC here. At least not from those images.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: rocko (03-22-2012)
  #3  
03-22-2012, 11:17 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Thank you,I will send "screen shots" in a while,And I will make the 1st one just VCR to ATI,Then AVTOOLBOX shots,and will post them here

Last edited by rocko; 03-22-2012 at 11:21 PM. Reason: Forgot something
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-23-2012, 12:00 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,773
Thanked 1,664 Times in 1,445 Posts
Post them here.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: rocko (03-31-2012)
  #5  
03-31-2012, 03:51 AM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Well.. it looks like I ran some tests, and the ATI card is working just fine, thru the Mistsu DVHS-AVTOOLBOX-AIW 9600xt ,But the video anomolies seem to be from the 2003 ATI card not keeping up with the 2011 SANYO 42" Monitor or something!!....I Ran an exhaoustive test from VCR TO AVTOOL TO TV...And from AV TOOL AND so on and ao on......So Here are the results..


AVTOOLBOX-ATI STILLSHOT DURING .AVI CAPTURE.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


AVTOOLBOX-ATI STILLSHOT-VCR Menu OFF.jpg

You Be The Judge.....


Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-01-2012, 05:49 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,773
Thanked 1,664 Times in 1,445 Posts
So you're using an HDTV as a computer monitor?
It may be that the TV is trying to process the video somehow, and failing miserably at it.

From the stills, I don't see anything wrong.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: rocko (04-02-2012)
  #7  
04-04-2012, 12:11 AM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
I forgot to attach this one to last post!,..This and the other 3 previous shots were taken using the AIW Snapshot function,..Frankly I was Stunned to see how good they look! And it showed that the AVTOOLBOX is Working Just Fine!!..And so is the AIW Card!!!But the Big TV doesn't like the VCR-AVTOOLBOX Combination!(With or without AIW/Computer)...I tested VCR-AVTOOL-TV only,and got a solid color bar from AVTOOL with VCR OFF,and those weird patterns with VCR ON!!!...So you are correct Lordsmurf about the TV!!,..WOW it sure took awhile to find all this stuff out!!!..Otherwise the Big TV has worked fine with both Computers,and soon I'll have a regular 17" computer monitor working as #2 on both,switched with a KVM. I figured using the big TV would give me a good reference from capture-to-finished product,and most people nowdays would be viewing my stuff on a Big TV anyway?. Thank You


Attached Images
File Type: jpg AVTOOLBOX-ATI STILLSHOT-VCR Menu ON.jpg (162.9 KB, 18 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-04-2012, 04:29 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,297
Thanked 360 Times in 334 Posts
Yeah, that looks fine to me.
It has normal flaws associated with that source, sure, but nothing external is being added as previously thought.

I think you're good to capture now.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-04-2012, 10:59 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Thanks KP! And I was wondering if the AIW MMC "SNAPSHOT" Function makes a BLACK background,(as in the Menu shot above) instead of the original BLUE background generated by the VCR? Also just to clarify,These snapshots were made in MMC Capture during Record Mode,While my Big TV monitor was showing the jumbled,flickering VCR MENU,but the snapsots taken the same moment look fine! Thats what really stunned me when I saw the snapshots! AND the video looks good on the Big TV while tape is rolling!! From now on, I'll just ignore the Jumbled Menu thing and start Capturing!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
04-05-2012, 04:46 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,297
Thanked 360 Times in 334 Posts
I often wonder if the blue screen has a visible VBI (vertical blanking interval). Because sometimes I swear I see it flickering. Similar to some video game systems, the VCR menus are also not always 100% NTSC compliant output, which often leads to issues with capturing or correction. If the snapshot is black, it may be snagging actual black frames. But I would assume this is hit-or-miss, and sometimes you'd capture blue screens, too.

I turn off blue screen functions, when possible. More trouble than they're worth.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my new AVT-8710 DOA? (screenshots/clips of error) newby Video Hardware Repair 179 10-10-2018 04:02 PM
Defective JVC HR-S9500 value, what should it cost ? Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 14 04-01-2012 03:03 PM
Avtoolbox 8710 myths and answers rocko Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 03-22-2012 12:03 AM
Screen protectors for matte screen LCD on Macbook pro laptop? Sossity Computers 1 12-09-2010 07:01 PM
Capture Pics for DVD Cases mitch Project Planning, Workflows 13 12-26-2005 05:56 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM