Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-12-2012, 04:21 PM
Free Member

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie here who just bought a Panasonic AG-1980 on eBay that was guaranteed fully functional. Well, it arrived packaged really well but the first essential step to functioning is a bust. The cassette door is locked (stuck, jammed, blocked?)! I don't don't want to force it too much but it is seriously inhibited on the right upper corner. Is there a sensor switch there or something that has malfunctioned? I need to decide whether to send it back (at a cost of $15+) or to try to get it fix. Is it something minor or major? Please give me your 2 worth!

Thanks a bunch!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-13-2012, 07:18 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
There's a few things that can control this, including rubber bands, gears and motors.

I don't have the ability to open up my AG-1980 units right now, but that's what you'll want to look for. One good trick is to open up another VCR, and watch the various mechanisms that move around while a tape is inserted. All VCRs are essentially operating the same, in terms of the mechanical components. In fact, I believe other members at this forum have had this issue before, and discussed it -- possibly even with some photos attached to the posts. So you may want to search the forum for those past posts.

It is very possible that the unit functioned perfectly before it was mailed. VCRs can be damaged during shipping if jostled too much.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
06-14-2012, 02:46 PM
Free Member

Thank you for your response lordsmurf.