Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools
08-11-2012, 07:10 PM
Free Member

I owned this unit for some time now and have loaded alot of family videos over the years, but the Player is reading "LOADING" when powered on I have switched the unit on as per previous threads, and everybody is taking about Faulty capacitors ( i have no experience on electronic repairs)
Does any body know if i remove the HHD from the unit and install it in my pc will the drive and data be recognised by my PC.
If not is there a way to remove the video files onto my pc and reburn them onto a DVD

Overall how can i save the data on the HDD and make them workable for my familyto enjoy over the years?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

08-11-2012, 07:18 PM
Free Member

this is why you should never use DVR's or hard drives as a sole archive. these unit are notorious for bad caps.

you can try it but a PC may not recognize the drive.
best bet would be to buy an identical working unit and swap drives or have your unit repaired.
once you get it working back up your videos on dvds
08-11-2012, 10:00 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
There's several things going on here...
Quote:
Originally Posted by yarnos View Post
I owned this unit for some time now and have loaded alot of family videos over the years
DVR/TiVo hard drives were unfortunately not intended for anything other than temporary use. These are not long-term storage devices due to the proprietary nature of the data storage on the hard drive, compared with above-average abuse given to these machines versus that of computers. You'll want to keep this in mind for all future use of hard drives attached to digital video recorders.

Quote:
but the Player is reading "LOADING" when powered on I have switched the unit on as per previous threads, and everybody is taking about Faulty capacitors ( i have no experience on electronic repairs)