Quantcast JVC VCR power cord mod (with photos) - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
10-21-2012, 02:19 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,027
Thanked 212 Times in 190 Posts
it has always annoyed me that my JVC decks don't have a removable power cord like my AG-1980.
the cords become a tangled mess in my storage cabinet

so today i was bored and did this:

IMG_0810.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/...e/IMG_0810.jpg
http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/...e/IMG_0809.jpg


Reply With Quote
The following users thank volksjager for this useful post: lordsmurf (10-23-2012)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-23-2012, 10:23 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,918
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Well, that's mighty nifty.

I have no problem admitting that I've (more than once) tripped over the VCR's tail. This is a good solution. The lid of a low-end JVC still has a dent in it where my knee landed on it. It was probably 1999 when that happened! After that incident, I was always more careful to wrap the cord in velcro or twist tie, and then go one further and tie it to that wimpy little plastic piece on the back.

I like your method better than mine.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-23-2012, 06:00 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,027
Thanked 212 Times in 190 Posts
only cost a couple bucks and was fairly easy.
another thing i like about it is i used a standard "mickey mouse" or cloverleaf" connector so i can use just about any length cord i want.
so if the unit is close to the surge protector i dont have 6 feet of cord hanging around.

the mickey mouse cords are polarized oriented so i make sure to match the live/neutral marks on the board connector.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need new battery and power cord for Dell Inspiron laptop admin Computers 3 08-16-2011 02:29 AM
Here are some of my photos for critique Sossity Photo Cameras: Buying & Shooting 4 08-04-2010 11:28 PM
Processing photos in Photoshop segen77 Photo Processing, Scanning & Printing 5 11-05-2009 08:08 PM
Software to get photos off Canon 20D ?? admin Photo Processing, Scanning & Printing 0 09-25-2009 04:01 PM
Upload photos to this site, don't link! admin General Discussion 0 12-23-2008 11:08 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM