Quantcast Panasonic tape loading issues? - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
07-25-2017, 11:29 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
My AG1980 has the split plastic piece on the loading motor shaft (along with a lot of oil).

Interesting the the only sources of that specific part (VDP1434 PANASONIC COUPLING FOR LOADING MOTOR) appear to be outside the USA. Around US$8 with shipping.

How well does the super glue fix work?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
07-25-2017, 12:13 PM
bever bever is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pac Northwest
Posts: 93
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
My AG1980 has the split plastic piece on the loading motor shaft (along with a lot of oil).

Interesting the the only sources of that specific part (VDP1434 PANASONIC COUPLING FOR LOADING MOTOR) appear to be outside the USA. Around US$8 with shipping.

How well does the super glue fix work?
I pulled the cassette loading motor out of my malfunctioning K mechanism and found the little plastic piece (VDP1434) was not broken, I actually suspect a mode switch for that mechanism (tbd). I did find the little plastic piece oily. Quasipal did I think say that oil is bad there. Easy enough to clean the oil off.

I would think $8 is not too much for a new gear delivered as opposed to glue but how to determine which one is a quality part not a cheap knock off?

Mode switch VSS0365 is listed online for $6.93 contact info for that company is in California. Where to order from?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
07-25-2017, 12:27 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
Did you try cry cleaning the contacts on the position switch as Quasipal suggested.

Of the $8 for the tiny plastic (nylon?) part, $6 was shipping.

Attached is a photo of the cracked plastic part on my system. The image was contrast-enhanced to better show the cracks and the oil in them.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg PlasticCrack.JPG (27.4 KB, 27 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
07-25-2017, 12:50 PM
bever bever is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pac Northwest
Posts: 93
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
Did you try cry cleaning the contacts on the position switch as Quasipal suggested.
No haven't got to that yet though I did receive my little jug of De-Oxit which is by the way not cheap.

The K mechanism that I suspect a mode switch is now assigned to AG-1980 that is still apart for caps. It makes sense to have a new part on hand though. When I put it back together I want to be able to rule out the mode switch completely. (or almost completely)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
07-27-2017, 05:04 PM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 226
Thanked 95 Times in 75 Posts
Just to add that super glue does not really work at all in this application due to the plastic type and that it is heavily stressed by pushing it onto the loading motor shaft.

One tip is winding 5 Amp fuse wire tightly around the plastic and tacking it with super glue. I did this once and it's still holding. May be an option but you must wind the wire tightly as any slack will prevent the two parts sliding together.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
08-12-2017, 06:56 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
Would super glue on the shaft, before the cracked part is reinstalled work? Also perhaps griding the shaft a bit so it is not smooth and round.

In any case I have ordered the part.

-- merged --

The tiny part for the loading motor shaft arrived Thursday (took 2 weeks to receive it). Installed it in the AG-1980 on Friday, and it now loads/unloads properly!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
08-12-2017, 09:17 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bever View Post
I would think $8 is not too much for a new gear delivered as opposed to glue
Good gel superglue is about $6 per tube. So $8 is is not far off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
Did you try cry
Last time my AG-1980 quit working, I almost cried.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
and it now loads/unloads properly!
Glad to hear it.

I like having threads like this here. It gives me hope about 1980 failures that are solvable. Of course, hoping that I never run into the problem. These 1980 decks are so costly already.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #28  
11-26-2017, 06:49 PM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I'm sorry for bumping this old thread... but damn it! When following this method, I broke the connector of the ribbon cable when trying to lurke it out with a screwdriver :-( Does anyone have a leftover? ...or knows where I can get a new one? I really feel like the bigest moron right now


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20171127_012806.jpg (35.9 KB, 58 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
11-26-2017, 08:22 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Maybe. I do have a spare-parts deck. I'm not sure where that wire is, but I can look next week (Dec 4-8).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #30  
11-27-2017, 07:11 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 226
Thanked 95 Times in 75 Posts
IF LS doesn't have one, I may have one in my parts box - but as LS said, where is that wire?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
11-27-2017, 01:34 PM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Oh, thank you very much to both of you
If I can buy it from one of you, you'll really save my life
Please let me know if you can find one of those

Another thing I wonder: It seems like I might need a new soft break. My capstain is very blank and shiny. Where can I order a new one?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20171127_202926.jpg (106.9 KB, 57 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #32  
11-27-2017, 01:59 PM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 226
Thanked 95 Times in 75 Posts
I may also have a new soft brake - but you need to let us know where the broken connector goes to and from as it wasn't clear from your photo.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
11-27-2017, 06:19 PM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quasipal View Post
I may also have a new soft brake - but you need to let us know where the broken connector goes to and from as it wasn't clear from your photo.
It would be great if you could get me a new soft brake also
Ah, of cource. It's the cable that goes from this connector (the red circle) of the Panasonic NV-HS1000:


...and this is where it goes to:


Attached Images
File Type: jpg cable plug.jpg (90.8 KB, 57 downloads)
File Type: jpg 20171128_010425.jpg (117.9 KB, 56 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
11-28-2017, 01:52 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Oh wow, that's really deep in there, isn't it?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: hysteriah (11-29-2017)
  #35  
11-28-2017, 03:42 PM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 226
Thanked 95 Times in 75 Posts
I have the very lead you need - lucky I keep everything isn't it! Yours for free - just pay postage. Came from an HS1000 too!

As to the soft brake, sorry I can't find one (only have G deck ones), although my suggestion is as follows. Lift up the pad and using a cotton bud (Q tip) dampened with a little isopropyl, wipe the braking surface and also where it rubs on the flywheel. The only problem this getting shiny causes is a squeal when stopping.
You can reline them if you are handy (as I often do) by cutting off the old pad and using soft fine leather - glued on with contact adhesive.
If possible look out on eBay for any K deck machine (bottom of the range is best - cheaper) and if you see a new / mint one at a cheap price, buy it and move over the whole capstan and soft brake - and lubricate the capstan at the same time. I covered this in my video. My experience is that one the flywheel gets a really polished circle then it is time to replace it.
Buying a second machine in mint or new condition means you have a whole raft of spares as the decks are identical - and it is WAY cheaper than buying the parts - if you can find them.

PM me your address and I'll pop the lead in a jiffy and quote you postage.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hysteriah (11-29-2017), sevarre (04-28-2020)
  #36  
11-29-2017, 03:27 PM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quasipal View Post
I have the very lead you need - lucky I keep everything isn't it! Yours for free - just pay postage. Came from an HS1000 too!

As to the soft brake, sorry I can't find one (only have G deck ones), although my suggestion is as follows. Lift up the pad and using a cotton bud (Q tip) dampened with a little isopropyl, wipe the braking surface and also where it rubs on the flywheel. The only problem this getting shiny causes is a squeal when stopping.
You can reline them if you are handy (as I often do) by cutting off the old pad and using soft fine leather - glued on with contact adhesive.
If possible look out on eBay for any K deck machine (bottom of the range is best - cheaper) and if you see a new / mint one at a cheap price, buy it and move over the whole capstan and soft brake - and lubricate the capstan at the same time. I covered this in my video. My experience is that one the flywheel gets a really polished circle then it is time to replace it.
Buying a second machine in mint or new condition means you have a whole raft of spares as the decks are identical - and it is WAY cheaper than buying the parts - if you can find them.

PM me your address and I'll pop the lead in a jiffy and quote you postage.
Thanks A LOT, Quasipal. That's VERY kind of you ...and for very detailed description on what to do with the soft break also... and yes, a spare-part deck is a very good idea THANKS!
I'll send you a PM in a minute.
You really are an angel!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
12-01-2017, 02:32 PM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 226
Thanked 95 Times in 75 Posts
Connector is on its way to you now. Hope you get it fixed!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
12-01-2017, 05:36 PM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
You're a lifesaver, Quasipal
Thanks A LOT!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC HR-VP624U tape loading spring came out? throwcomputer Video Hardware Repair 5 06-17-2019 10:27 AM
Sony SL-HF1000 SuperBeta HiFi tape loading, out of sync? yonkiman Video Hardware Repair 0 01-31-2019 07:19 PM
JVC BR8600 tape loading problem? itaprog Video Hardware Repair 2 01-04-2016 09:43 AM
Tape loading issues on JVC CR-600U VCR? Winsordawson Video Hardware Repair 2 07-25-2014 08:37 AM
DVD recorders - JVC LOADING & Panasonic filters deter Video Hardware Repair 39 08-19-2010 03:44 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM