digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Video Hardware Repair (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vcr-repair/)
-   -   Panasonic tape loading issues? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vcr-repair/6013-panasonic-tape-loading.html)

Quasipal 08-01-2014 04:34 AM

Panasonic tape loading issues?

Being a VCR engineer I am seeing more and more K mechanism Panasonic VCR's with tape loading issues.

Tapes being ejected instantly
Tapes stick inside
Tapes wont play
Error code 04 being displayed

Most of the time this is caused by a slipping motor coupling which I have now got down to changing in under 15 minutes. I change this coupling on all K mechanism VCR's that come my way before even turning them on and it makes them perform much more positively (as well as preventing the tape being eaten on first try).

Would a tutorial on fitting a new coupling be of any use here if I made one?

It means taking the lid off the machine and taking the whole mechanism out. Perhaps you all already know about this and do it yourselves?

volksjager 08-01-2014 07:09 AM

yes - by all mean post a how too.
far too many of these decks have loading issues

i have found also the pinch roller lube dries up and makes it stick
sometime it is so bad it breaks the plastic dink off where it engages the cam
the first thing i do with any K-mech i get is remove, clean and lube the pinch roller shaft

Quasipal 08-01-2014 07:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by volksjager (Post 33365)
yes - by all mean post a how too.
far too many of these decks have loading issues

i have found also the pinch roller lube dries up and makes it stick
sometime it is so bad it breaks the plastic dink off where it engages the cam
the first thing i do with any K-mech i get is remove, clean and lube the pinch roller shaft

Ah yes - the jammed roller. I had that last week but I always check that area. I'll add it to the tutorial.

How is best to upload here? Should I contact a mod?