Quantcast G2 MSTC Evolution TBC problem - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-14-2015, 06:01 PM
U-max U-max is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm expreriencing a technical issue with a used G2 MSTC Evolution. When I power on the unit, a red light situated in "I/P STD" control panel starts blinking and have a very disturbed signal from the outputs. Does anyone know this product? Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Thanks


Attached Images
File Type: jpg G2.jpg (39.0 KB, 10 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-03-2015, 05:26 PM
U-max U-max is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Update

Some PSU capacitors are visibly burned out. I'm going to replace the entire PSU board. Thanks anyway.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg WP_20151003_20_00_27_Pro.jpg (72.6 KB, 12 downloads)

Last edited by U-max; 10-03-2015 at 06:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-03-2015, 07:01 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 878
Thanks: 0
Thanked 266 Times in 219 Posts
I don't see any budging capacitors in the power supply photo, unless they are leaking from the bottom. That is glue near the DC output connector. I would check voltages regardless. Usually power supplies output +5V and +12V with the occasional -5/12V.

A blinking red light on the IP STD panel may indicate a "no signal/unstable signal" condition. If the power supply voltages check out, I would first look towards a fault somewhere in the input side of the electronics. Seeing that you are likely using PAL sources, try and manually select PAL input mode as per the manual instead of having it auto-detect the signal type.

Also this unit has a built in test pattern generator. Leave nothing connected to the inputs and see if you can get a test pattern on the outputs. If the signal is still unstable, than there is likely a fault in the output side of the TBC.

http://www.adcom.it/public/images/Ma...O%20manual.pdf
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: U-max (10-03-2015)
  #4  
10-03-2015, 07:31 PM
U-max U-max is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi NJRoadfan,

thanks for the reply. You're right, the PSU capacitors seem to be ok in the photo but they're not. The metal cover of the PSU has been attacked by corrosion as you can see in the attached photo. I've already tried as you suggested but get a very disturbed video outputs, or nothing at all. I think it would be worth the risk changing the entire PSU board (for less than 30 €) in the meantime and see what happens.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg WP_20151003_20_01_13_Pro.jpg (50.5 KB, 13 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
10-13-2015, 03:35 PM
U-max U-max is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PSU replaced and... Tadaaaa! Welcome back to life, dear old G2 MSTC Evolution 2! Still have some noise on SDI outputs, probably due to bad caps on the logic board, but at least it's working for the most part (attached pics and video link). Cheers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6P5D-nYfLq4


Attached Images
File Type: jpg WP_20151013_18_54_23_Pro.jpg (75.1 KB, 13 downloads)
File Type: jpg WP_20151013_18_54_35_Pro.jpg (79.4 KB, 7 downloads)
File Type: jpg WP_20151013_18_54_47_Pro.jpg (69.5 KB, 7 downloads)
File Type: jpg WP_20151013_19_17_26_Pro.jpg (64.7 KB, 7 downloads)
File Type: jpg WP_20151013_19_23_25_Pro.jpg (64.8 KB, 7 downloads)

Last edited by U-max; 10-13-2015 at 03:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-10-2017, 11:35 AM
silverdr silverdr is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I may ask - where did you get the PSU for this device? Or did you use some kind of a generic PSU?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
08-10-2017, 08:49 PM
U-max U-max is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 25
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sure, I got a Mean Well PT-45B PSU. It's readily available online.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd