Quantcast Three JVC DR-M100S available today only - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-26-2007, 04:06 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,267
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,204 Posts
This the the DR-M100S second-generation model (meaning it does not have any sort of errors).

About $115 total ($65 for unit, $40 to join club, $10 to ship).

http://ecost.com/ecost/shop/detail.asp?dpno=4988524

Go for it!



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-30-2007, 12:26 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You can save $10 as well by using the new Google Checkout! Total price is $105 shipped afterwards.

I am debating whether to pull the trigger, I really like the JVC brand (tried several others to compliment my old one and have been less then thrilled)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-30-2007, 03:15 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I know, tell me about it Mark, I'm this close to pulling the trigger myself. I think i'm gonna do it, I think I can, I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-16-2007, 01:23 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
JonathanEntertainment JonathanEntertainment is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 77
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
score!!!! I went and ordered!

Arrow Chat now $45 - click Here
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-25-2007, 01:09 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
JonathanEntertainment JonathanEntertainment is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 77
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hmmm anyone got some good tips for this thing got it in... I heard alot of good things about it. Is there anything settings wise I should do ?

Arrow Chat now $45 - click Here
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-25-2007, 03:53 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,267
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,204 Posts
FR180 mode is the best to use. SP, LP look the same, more or less. XP is awesome, but only 1 hour.

The filters to correct video kick in on their own.

Only use VIDEO mode, never VR mode. This means no DVD-RAM, just use DVD-R or DVD-RW.

Really not much to it. It does the work for you, nothing crappy to "work around" on this unit.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-25-2007, 04:13 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My settings:

Sports (Wrestling, etc) XP or SP (1-2hrs)
Live Action (basic tv shows) FR170 (almost 3hrs)
Cartoons FR180-190 (3-4hrs)

Hercules, Kim Possible, Jackie Chan, all done on FR180-190
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-26-2007, 01:34 AM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFOr cryin out loud. Everything goes on sale when I m broke lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-26-2007, 05:11 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Alright, alright, I bit the bullet and bought one I also picked up a 10 pack of Mini-DV tapes for 14.50. That is a awesome deal.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
03-02-2007, 12:29 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Never again. I bought the JVC recroder, opened it, the remote doesn't work. Called Ecost. They say I have to call JVC, get a case number. Then call Ecost back and get an RMA number. Then I have to send the WHOLE thing back ( DVD recorder and remote), and they will send me another one. What a pain in the ass. Does anyone know a good remote that works all the functions of the DVD Recorder? I wanted to use this for a program next week.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
03-02-2007, 01:54 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Of all the things to go wrong and the remote was the problem lol

I know the cheapy $8 universal remote I got at Walmart controls my JVC DVD Recorder as far as basic functions like record and stuff go, not sure if can change the FR mode or program

LS would probably know more
Reply With Quote
  #12  
03-02-2007, 09:07 AM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
JonathanEntertainment JonathanEntertainment is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 77
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hmm no problem with mine yet.

Arrow Chat now $45 - click Here
Reply With Quote
  #13  
03-02-2007, 09:22 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,267
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,204 Posts
Call JVC direct about replacing the remote, and just the remote. Ecost employees are seemingly acting like idiots. Bypass them.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
03-03-2007, 09:43 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Yeah, that's what I ended up doing. JVC said they are sending me out a new remote and all I had to do was Fax a copy of my sales receipt to them. I purchased the Universal R7 remote in the meantime. Pretty nice remote, even has learning capabilities which isn't bad for $39. Problem is that it doesn't work with JVC DVD Recorder Oh well, it will work nice for all my other stuff, and once the new remote gets here, I can then have it learn the keys for the JVC Recorder as well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
03-09-2007, 02:27 PM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
UGH!!! The new remote from JVC came today, and guess what? It didn't work. I have no idea why the remote from my HRS9800 works on it, but the one that comes with it doesn't. It has to be something wrong with the machine, or they just sent me another bad remote. I have no service centers near me, so it is either pay my own money to ship it to one, or send it back to ecost at their cost and get a new one from them. I am sending it back to ecost. I don't know that I will ever buy refurbished again. This was the first time, and it will be the last.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
03-09-2007, 02:48 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
JVC sucks, I don't care what LS says!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My RCA has been problem free!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
03-09-2007, 05:41 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,267
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,204 Posts
Marcus, does your RCA tuner have a whine to it? Mine does on the tuner. The s-video/composite is fine, so I'm okay with my digital satellite, but nothing from analog would sound good.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
03-10-2007, 01:16 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by MagnificentMarcus

JVC sucks, I don't care what LS says!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My RCA has been problem free!
I returned 2 RCA's and gave up on the brand last month, it was the $98 dvd recorder with hdmi dvd player output.

What a piece of crap, my tuner was grey with no colors, refused to pick up my cable. And the discs were horrible for my editing on the Mac compared to the JVC, Lite-On and ILO 04.

I would stick with my cheapy Lite-On and ILO and my having to unplug it after use JVC then deal with RCA ever again.

You can have your RCA LS and Marcus, I think its a piece of garbage lol
Reply With Quote
  #19  
03-10-2007, 07:20 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,267
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,204 Posts
My recent recordings will be coming off the RCA, and I'll make some tests, so eventually folks will see what it can do.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
03-10-2007, 07:54 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Well, I have to wait 3 - 4 days for ecost to send me an email with rma information. So I will still be getting it. But in the meantime, I wanted one to start using. But I guess maybe I'll wait and see if the new one decides to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC DR-M100S Resolution and Bitrate Reference Sheet robjv1 Capture, Record, Transfer 2 09-18-2011 06:00 AM
DR-M100S On Ebay - $200 Shipping Fee??? jbd5010 General Discussion 15 03-30-2011 03:12 PM
Broken JVC DR-M100S giving me a LOADING error via Email or PM Capture, Record, Transfer 2 08-28-2009 12:22 AM
Jvc dr-m100s dvd finalise Q manthing Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-28-2006 07:37 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM