Quantcast Best settings or filters for ATI AIW setup? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-26-2019, 06:35 PM
Sleeper XPL Sleeper XPL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 16
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Purchased a HP Z400 computer + 4TB hard drive, 8GB ram. Purchased TBC + ATI AIW USB capture setup (Reason for loading XP is AIW).

Loaded XP 32bit - SP2
Using Virtualdub, x86 32bit to transfer VHS to AVI using Lagarith lossless.

Can any one help me with best settings, or filters to start. I am using S-video input, and can get pictures and sound, but once captured the control buttons at the bottom of the screen don't function. System will only show captured video and will not show processed video. (Only showing capture screen vs. capture screen and process screen)

I think that Windows might be interfering.

Help please!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-26-2019, 08:22 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,202
Thanked 282 Times in 236 Posts
Sleeper XPL: You should really start a new thread for your specific issue, rather than replying at the end of an existing thread on a different topic. People who can answer are most likely to see it that way, particularly if you name your thread's Title well.
-- Moved. Report posts that should be moved. -LS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleeper XPL View Post
once captured the control buttons at the bottom of the screen don't function. System will only show captured video and will not show processed video. (Only showing capture screen vs. capture screen and process screen)
I don't understand what you're describing. If you do start a new thread, please attach screenshots showing your issue, if images would be enough to show it. Or make a short video, if photos aren't sufficient.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-26-2019, 10:38 PM
jwillis84 jwillis84 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 791
Thanked 201 Times in 162 Posts
Yes starting a new thread is highly recommended. This thread is really old now and most people will ignore it.
-- Moved. Report posts that should be moved. -LS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleeper XPL View Post
...
It sounds like you've installed the ATI AIW USB2.0 device drivers. Then began using one of the many versions of VirtualDub.

VirtualDub has changed a lot in 15 years, so its important that you post in the New thread which version of VirtualDub you are using.

This website and forum has curated "Guides" or "Tutorials" on how to use VirtualDub for "Capture".

VirtualDub has two modes, one as a clip editor, the other as a capture tool.

While VirtualDub can apply filters while its capturing.. do not do that !

PCs that run the drivers for ATI AIW USB2.0 and VirtualDub under XP are too weak to apply filters at the same time as capturing.. it will cause much damage to the capture file.

The end result file.. if it doesn't abort will be unacceptable during playback.

After capturing, you don't want to use VirtualDub for editing.. its not a good tool for that purpose. There are many better tools for editing the capture file.

I think based on your description that "the controls" do not work after capture.. means your trying to use VirtualDub for playback and editing.. don't do that !

VirtualDub is a very poor playback and editing tool. There are far better, for free.

You can browse around or ask for opinions.. but Windows media player, VLC, KM Player are a few good players.

Editing depends on your experience and preference.. people will make recommendations that better suit you.. if you explain your background editing videos.. anywhere from "none" to "advanced".. on MacOS or Windows.

Hope that helps.

Good luck starting a New thread.. really do that.. go to the main list of Posts, click the button to start a new post.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-26-2019, 11:24 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,139
Thanked 1,983 Times in 1,710 Posts
Quote:
control buttons at the bottom of the screen
Same question as msgohan here ... no idea what you refer to.
Screencap needed.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are the best filters for these VHS captures? jwhittin Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 15 03-26-2018 06:07 PM
Capture setup; use VirtualDub 64, filters? Amanjm Capture, Record, Transfer 6 02-22-2018 12:09 AM
How to setup email filters in cPanel Brent cPanel 0 08-25-2013 08:23 PM
Repeat filters in SoundForge ? admin Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 11-01-2009 10:53 AM
The right mac, svhs, tbc, filters, etc. jscottinla Capture, Record, Transfer 2 02-11-2005 06:16 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM