Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-28-2019, 09:21 AM
Free Member

Hello. First of all, I'd like to say I love these forums. I've been hovering around for a few years, just reading and soaking up the info. But now I have been tasked to digitize some old VHS tapes, so I'm jumping right into it! My VCR is a Toshiba M752. My capture card is an Avermedia m791 PCIe NTSC/ATSC tuner and capture, with only S-Video and RF inputs for video. Since my VCR only has composite out (and RF), the only way to make the connection to my capture card is to go through my Yamaha receiver and use it's S-Video out to the card. With my VCR hooked straight to my TV (2009 Samsung 42" flat-panel), the picture is very good. But if I go from VCR - Receiver - Capture card, the picture is bad. Like the interlacing is coming apart and it needs deinterlaced badly. Oh and I am using your VirtualDub with added filters capture program. When I hook the VCR up to capture card via RF connection, the interlacing problem isn't bad at all, just grainy and all-around crappy RF-type quality picture. My cables are all quality cables. Not high quality by any means, but not bottom of the barrel either. I've tried 4 other sets of cables and all look the same. I just bought 2 JVC HR-S6900U SVHS players that both eat tapes to see if I can fix them. Would make it much simpler to have the S-Video out and I'm guessing better overall quality internals. I know there are several pieces of info that I probably forgot to mention, so I'll do my best to answer all that I can if someone knows why the picture might be bad. Thanks in advance!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-28-2019, 02:58 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Like the interlacing is coming apart and it needs deinterlaced badly
What do you mean by this? Maybe a picture showing the issue would be more helpful.