01-24-2020, 12:42 AM
Free Member

Hello everyone,
I'm managing the multimedia library of a swiss high-school.

The guy who was working before me started to record TV documentaries, reports, and Super8/16mm on VHS from 1979. We already sent one doc to the national swiss TV who was missing document from the 80's.

I've more than 2000 VHS (and the same amount of DVD) to digitalise (maybe not everything is needed).

Actually, I was using an "AJA Io" and a "Director's Cut" (ANALOGUE TO IEEE-1394 CONVERTOR, TYPE TAKE 2).
Both are quit old stuff, linked to old Mac. I'd like to use actual devices with the new Mac Pro I've.

As a sound engineer, I need advices, please!

I've looked at Black Magic devices (H.264 or Intensity), but is there something more adapted (pro) to the amount of sources I have?

(For the VCR /VHS players, I've many different machine as a Sony SVO 5800p, a Bang & Olufsen 91.2, and many standard Sony/panasonic player, from the one hundred classroom that needed to be equipped. I've also cleaning tapes)

I hope I'll have the pleasure to read your answers.
Jeremy
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-24-2020, 01:04 AM
Free Member

Trust me the AJA Io setup you have is the best you'll ever have, For that amount of tapes plus the headache of newer hardware and operating systems you will go crazy, There is nothing wrong with an old operating system, VHS is older anyway. Just get a bigger hard drive or multiple small hard drives if the MAC system has a HDD size limit.

Jwillis has covered this piece of hardware in this thread.
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: MAV_Burier (01-24-2020)
01-24-2020, 01:16 AM
Free Member

Thanks for the quick reply!

I'll try again. I've dropped frame problem, sound sychronisation and at the end a 80 GB file after 4 hours of digitalisation.
Probably more a parameters (user) problem than the devices....!

EDIT:
Should I need a Sync generator?

Last edited by MAV_Burier; 01-24-2020 at 01:33 AM.