Quantcast Matrox MXO2 LE Max vs. ATI AIW with VHS? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-07-2020, 09:05 PM
jjdd jjdd is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 137
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Hi not sure if this any useful info about VHS capture but i did buy again two new capture devices Matrox MXO2 Le Max and Aja IO HD but i do not have Aja IO HD yet but here is some clips again

MXO2 Le Max did not have any internal proc amp at all what i can see but it looks like it does capture ok anyway
Matrox Marvel G400TV does have internal proc amp

i did use Virtual Dub on all of does captures

Matrox MXO2 Le Max have input
12-bit ADC
2x oversampling
Anti-aliasing filtering
Automatic gain control On or Off

Aja IO HD have input
12 bit A/D
2x oversampling
3 line adaptive comb filter decoding


Attached Files
File Type: avi Ati_AIW_9000_704X576_noTBC5000.avi (71.60 MB, 44 downloads)
File Type: avi matrox_marvel_G400_704x576_notbc5000.avi (78.33 MB, 27 downloads)
File Type: avi matrox_mxo2_le_max_720x576_noTBC5000.avi (74.21 MB, 25 downloads)
File Type: avi panasonic_pass_through_nv-mx300_NoTBC5000.avi (36.41 MB, 11 downloads)
File Type: avi blackmagic_intensity_shuttle_720x576NoTBC5000.avi (72.64 MB, 10 downloads)

Last edited by jjdd; 02-07-2020 at 09:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank jjdd for this useful post: msgohan (02-08-2020)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-08-2020, 09:26 AM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
aiw9000: seems to have more details of all, but deinterlace problem (you can see near the white hair)
Blackmagic: colors are terrible.

Have you used the same compression with all videos?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-08-2020, 09:37 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,169
Thanked 1,990 Times in 1,716 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginopilotino View Post
aiw9000: seems to have more details of all, but deinterlace problem (you can see near the white hair)
Neither post makes sense.

1. What problem?
2. Then again, why is the attached video progressive? Captures should be interlaced from VHS tape source.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-08-2020, 09:45 AM
msgohan msgohan is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,217
Thanked 284 Times in 238 Posts
Thanks for attaching video samples instead of just images this time.

For some reason I previously thought you were French. Google Translate says Swedish.

Is this the retail tape, or a TV recording? It looks a bit noisy.

@lordsmurf: They are interlaced PAL, if you watch the subtitles. The video content is progressive, being film-sourced.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank msgohan for this useful post: lordsmurf (02-08-2020)
  #5  
02-08-2020, 10:00 AM
jjdd jjdd is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 137
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
itīs retail tape of Titanic PAL i have many retail tapes yes it is a noisy tape

yes im from sweden

all my ati all in wonder have Hanover bars problem with PAL signal you can see it very clearly if you pump up the saturation otherwise itīs very good card no problem if i use NTSC signal

yes Blackmagic is very bad


they are all interlace but itīs Pal film then it looks progressive if you do separate fields then you see the two fields looks the same

Last edited by jjdd; 02-08-2020 at 10:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-08-2020, 10:08 AM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Neither post makes sense.

1. What problem?
2. Then again, why is the attached video progressive? Captures should be interlaced from VHS tape source.
As you can see, only aiw capture show horizontal lines, the others no. It could be that the more details are due to the use of deinterlacing on others.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-08-2020, 10:16 AM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdd View Post
they are all interlace but itīs Pal film then it looks progressive if you do separate fields then you see the two fields looks the same
What's the reason of the horizontal lines on the aiw capture only, near the hair?
Can the difference in detail be seen also in uncompressed movies?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-08-2020, 10:23 AM
msgohan msgohan is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,217
Thanked 284 Times in 238 Posts
ginopilotino: I don't know what you're referring to either. Can you take a screenshot?

jjdd: They didn't bother with Macrovision on the Swedish release of Titanic?? (Maybe just because it's the letterboxed version and wouldn't sell many copies.)

Any chance we can get video samples of a full-frame tape?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-08-2020, 10:37 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,228
Thanked 314 Times in 268 Posts
Maybe the AIW has PAL chroma averaging disabled or lessened by default for whatever reason. Are the captures straight from a VCR or from a TBC/DVR output, and do you get them from a stable source like a DVD, DVD player menu, DV source etc?

Hanover bars are a PAL-only issue in general, due to the way it was designed to avoid the hue issues with NTSC.

Also, if you're capturing from a DVR or similar that also has component out, it would be interesting to see how that looks compared to S-Video on the cards that support it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-08-2020, 10:39 AM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Sorry, I used a crappy player on aiw file. Using the same player, details and everything else seems the same on mxo2 and aiw, almost identical.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
02-08-2020, 11:41 AM
jjdd jjdd is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 137
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
msgohan They didn't bother with Macrovision on the Swedish release of Titanic??
no hehe i have many more retail vhs tapes that does have any Macrovision at all


Quote:
Any chance we can get video samples of a full-frame tape?
i can do from a movie "In the Line Of Fire" itīs beter quality to less noise then Titanic movie

Quote:
Are the captures straight from a VCR or from a TBC/DVR output
they are straight from a VCR to the capture device
VHS i did use is Panasonic NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto


Quote:
Also, if you're capturing from a DVR or similar that also has component out, it would be interesting to see how that looks compared to S-Video on the cards that support it.
i have only Panasonic ES10



this avisynth function is the best i have found that fix the Hanover bar on Pal signal on Ati cards i have

in the Post 1 here Pal signal and hanover bars

and to call the function

ChromaDestripe(top=576, blur=1)

in one vhs capture i did i have to go higher on the blur like this ChromaDestripe(top=576, blur=15)

Last edited by jjdd; 02-08-2020 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
02-08-2020, 03:11 PM
jjdd jjdd is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 137
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
ok here i did some more full frame clips

Quote:
Also, if you're capturing from a DVR or similar that also has component out, it would be interesting to see how that looks compared to S-Video on the cards that support it
i did test the Component out of the ES10 i was going to use Matrox mxo2 but i do not have adapters to do it but i did use Blackmagic intensity shuttle it have also Component input

the ati all-in-wonder 2006 edition pci-e is the best of my Ati cards it have less Hanover bars error



NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto S-video > ati all-in-wonder 2006 edition pci-e

NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto S-video > matrox mxo2 le max

NV-HS930 with Line TBC Off and 3D DNR Auto S-video > ES10 > Component blackmagic intensity shuttle



Last edited by jjdd; 02-08-2020 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
02-08-2020, 04:40 PM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
mxo2 seems better. Try if svideo/component change anything on the last wf. But blackmagic seems always the worst.
This aiw2006 seems to have too saturated colors.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
02-08-2020, 04:47 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,169
Thanked 1,990 Times in 1,716 Posts
Saturated? Your monitor must not be calibrated. In terms of color, that tape is terrible on all clips, very blah and muted. Honestly, it seems a waste of 500mb+ on the server. There's got to be better clips to show issues.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #15  
02-08-2020, 04:57 PM
jjdd jjdd is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 137
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
ok i did just redo ati because i did an error on the color when i did capture

maby admin can delete the old ati files i can not do it anymore

here is the good ati clips

NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto S-video > ati all-in-wonder 2006 edition pci-e


Quote:
Try if svideo/component change anything on the last wf
you mean if i can capture like this like the others ?

NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto S-video > blackmagic intensity shuttle

lordsmurf oh sorry you can delete all does clips

or do i delete it don't want to get in trouble ?

for me ati redo clip and matrox look about the same



Last edited by jjdd; 02-08-2020 at 05:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
02-08-2020, 05:34 PM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdd View Post
ok i did just redo ati because i did an error on the color when i did capture

maby admin can delete the old ati files i can not do it anymore

here is the good ati clips

NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto S-video > ati all-in-wonder 2006 edition pci-e
Ok, colors are now the same as mxo2, but less details. mxo2 wins.

Quote:
you mean if i can capture like this like the others ?

NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto S-video > blackmagic intensity shuttle
Yes, but bm doesn't seems usable.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
02-08-2020, 05:37 PM
jjdd jjdd is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 137
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Yes, but bm doesnėt seem usable.
no itīs bad

and donīt whant to spam more clips don't want to get in trouble so no more clips
Reply With Quote
  #18  
02-09-2020, 05:14 AM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdd View Post
no itīs bad

and donīt whant to spam more clips don't want to get in trouble so no more clips
Instead of clips, to evaluate colors and details, you could share a screenshot. But I'd like to read your comments about the different wf.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
02-09-2020, 05:45 AM
jjdd jjdd is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 137
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Instead of clips, to evaluate colors and details, you could share a screenshot. But I'd like to read your comments about the different wf.
ok

i did test to capture a full film last night that was 3 hours long without my external Datavideo TBC 5000 on my Matrox mxo2 le max and it was very good no frame drops or inserted frames and audio was in sync to i did use Virtual Dub for capture and Lagarith codec

NV-HS930 with Line TBC On and 3D DNR Auto S-video > matrox mxo2 le max

Last edited by jjdd; 02-09-2020 at 06:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
02-09-2020, 06:16 AM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 53
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Would like to see what real differences there are between a mxo2 mini and a mxo2 le, the first has 10bit ADC and 12DAC, the other always 12bit ADC/DAC. Probably nothing with low quality source like vhs/svhs/beta.
mxo2 seems to be really good for capture, using consumer source option.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
mxo2

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VHS (JVC) to Matrox MXO2 LE -> audio sync anskiobi Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 0 02-13-2019 12:33 PM
Matrox MX02 Mini MAX waloshin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 05-08-2017 08:36 PM
Matrox MX02 VHS files size waloshin Capture, Record, Transfer 1 04-12-2017 01:50 PM
Archiving with Matrox MXO2 and JVC VCRs? leeoverstreet Project Planning, Workflows 10 01-16-2017 02:18 PM
Seeking Advice on Matrox MX02 Jarvis Capture, Record, Transfer 11 04-12-2013 02:50 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM