Quantcast Selecting Preview on VirtualDub causes it to crash? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-09-2020, 01:53 PM
Sirworm Sirworm is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 22
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Overlay does not work with my capture card and selecting preview had always worked... until I decided to plug in the audio cables and s video cable to my tv to transfer my VHS tapes to DVD. However when I plugged these cables back into my capture card, selecting preview causes the whole program to crash. I tried different versions of Virtualdub (1.9.11 and Vdub2), tried restarting my desktop, using crossbarthing, and so on. Anybody have a solution?

Note: This issue only occurs with my 510 USB, my VC500 on the other hand works flawlessly and the VC500 works with overlay anyway.

Last edited by Sirworm; 02-09-2020 at 02:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-09-2020, 02:46 PM
themaster1 themaster1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 213
Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
note: not sure that'll fix your problem but you can try the following:
download radlight filter manager and try to give the "overlay mixer" (in the "directshow filters list") the highest merit (or "merit prefererred" should be enough) log off and on, check on vdub if that's better
If it don't work give it the lowest merit and then give the highest merit to "Video mixing renderer 9", log off and on, check on vdub if that's better
Finally do the same with Evr (enhanced video renderer") (which is the default renderer on win7,8,10)

I've witnessed weird things in the past with capture card softwares/video renderers, not vdub but you never know.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-09-2020, 04:49 PM
Sirworm Sirworm is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 22
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'll be sure to try this out, thank you! However, how can I determine what the highest merit/lowest merit is? I'll just go ahead and try setting it to "merit preferred" after I finish transferring this one VHS tape. Also instead of logging on and off, wouldn't it be better to restart the PC?

My apologies, this is the first time I have used this tool.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
capture, vhs, virtualdub capture

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 10 64-bit Pinnacle-710: No S-video Preview in VirtualDub BruceOlsen Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-02-2020 12:01 AM
Preview problem in VirtualDub while capturing VHS WojtusJ Capture, Record, Transfer 0 10-26-2018 07:17 AM
VirtualDub responds very slowly when selecting settings? stevevid Capture, Record, Transfer 1 09-13-2018 02:29 AM
VirtualDub crashes when selecting WDM capture driver? benni2 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 07-25-2018 04:56 PM
VirtualDub has no inserted frames with preview turned off? jriker1 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 02-19-2015 09:45 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM