Quantcast ATI AIW compatibility with motherboard? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-14-2020, 06:56 PM
JoseGoy JoseGoy is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello my Name Is Jose. I live in Buenos Aires.
I am investigating ways to convert my old svhs tapes to digital.

If I wanted to use these Ati All in Wonder boards on a PC, should I get a PC with AGP slots, do you think any of these two boards can serve me with either of these two PCs?

What combination do you recommend?


ATI All in Wonder:
1) Ati All In Wonder Rage 128 Pro Agp 32mb
https://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ar...o-agp-32mb-_JM

2) Ati All In Wonder Radeon 7500 Agp 64mb Ddr
https://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ar...p-64mb-ddr-_JM


PC with AGP:
1)https://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ar...agp-win-2k-_JM

2)https://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ar...windows-98-_JM


The idea is to complete my workflow to capture SVHS.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-14-2020, 09:20 PM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Get the aiw 7500, but use at least a p4. To complete the workflow you need something that stabilize the signal.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank ginopilotino for this useful post: lordsmurf (02-17-2020)
  #3  
02-17-2020, 01:40 PM
BW37 BW37 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: MN
Posts: 25
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Can you give us a bit more information on what format(s) you wish to convert the VHS to?
Do you want to just capture it and move to DVD's or do you want to do restoration and significant editing? The best capture option will depend on your goals.

It might also help to know what equipment you have to use currently, VCR, PC and possibly any DVD recorders, etc.

Also, do you have experience in setting up PC's? Have you built one of your own? Setting up a capture PC using an AIW card is not rocket science but it is not trivial. If you don't have experience it could be quite difficult.

If you do want to go the AIW route, as ginopilotino says, you should look for a newer, more powerful PC. I think the minimum recommendation would be a P4 at 2Ghz with 2Gb of ram. You could get by with a bit less, but hopefully something like this or better will be available. Windows XP-SP2 is recommended as the most easily set up with the AIW. Other versions can be made to work but require more set-up.

You will also need at least the special purple output cable to connect the VCR to the AIW and a decent sound card (which can be connected to directly from the VCR). Equally important, you will need a fast, large hard drive (or a few of them), probably connected via eSATA. Note that Win XP can only access up to 2Gb drives. Using eSATA will likely require another special PCI card and cables to provide the SATA port on an older PC that most likely won't have them on the motherboard. Using older IDE drives could probably be made to work but it will be more difficult to get working right and difficult to move your files around for post capture work.

Hope this helps a bit... There's a LOT to learn and a lot of options to choose from.
If you haven't already, spend time reading the guides, etc. on this site. Many are somewhat out of date but still provide very useful background in trying to get up to speed.

Also, do some searches on something like "capture pc requirements". Use the top "Google custom search" option, NOT the "advanced search". It does a much better job of finding useful threads on this site than does the advanced search.

BW
Reply With Quote
The following users thank BW37 for this useful post: lordsmurf (02-17-2020)
  #4  
02-17-2020, 03:20 PM
ginopilotino ginopilotino is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Winxp support more than 2GB drives. If he choose the old school, he need a p4 with sata and agp, not very common. But it’s better to use for capture only, then move files on a faster machine. I didn’t try with old pc, but on my z400 I can capture lossless directly on nas.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank ginopilotino for this useful post: lordsmurf (02-17-2020)
  #5  
02-17-2020, 06:29 PM
BW37 BW37 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: MN
Posts: 25
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
You are correct.
I meant to say 2 TB drives!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank BW37 for this useful post: lordsmurf (02-17-2020)
Reply




Tags
aiw, ati, capture, motherboard, vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run VDub and VDub2 in compatibility mode on Windows 10? ELinder Capture, Record, Transfer 3 01-29-2019 09:44 PM
ATI AIW 650 PCI compatibility with my motherboard? soundquality Project Planning, Workflows 7 10-02-2013 03:35 PM
Compatibility of JVC DR-MH30S vs DR-MH30SEK drive mechanisms MacMater Video Hardware Repair 3 12-29-2011 12:21 PM
DVD burners and Mac compatibility hue_man Computers 3 09-18-2011 12:31 PM
Compatibility Wineslurper Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 3 08-21-2007 11:02 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM