Quantcast Lesser of capture evils - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-26-2020, 07:56 AM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
What is the lesser of the two evils?
A) Capture lossless AVI 4:2:2 at 640x480
B) Capture MPEG2 4:2:0 at 720x480 with high bit-rate
Just wondering.

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-26-2020, 08:11 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,973
Thanked 1,503 Times in 1,312 Posts
What is the source?
What is the goal of the project?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-26-2020, 09:08 AM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
I cringe at answering that...I'm reinventing my wheel, because I can't, even though I have all the perfectly functioning wheels needed thanks to this site.
Maybe I'll put on my helmet before I 'fess up. Sanlyn isn't around yet is he?
......
As you all despise Powerdirector this should be very popular.
I have an old version I no longer use of course, it's old. So I install it as a 32bit app and that gives me the AVI interface via
VFW and it allows me to use capture and produce using lossless codecs and those wonderful filters.
Butt, it does not allow me to alter the 640x480 capture to 720x480, and the dongle does not matter, it seems.
My AVI profiles jump from 640 to 1024, nothing in-between.
It's just a thing I can't bypass.
Of course, in Divx, or MPEG 2 profiles, it's there (720), but not in AVI.
It is a Quixotic pursuit, I know.
Uh-oh...INCOMIIIIING! Duck and cover.

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-26-2020, 04:21 PM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
Wow, I can almost hear the mocking PMs...not much else, though.
It's just a question.
Capture VHS with the intent of performing a few "fixes" and doing one render to streaming 4:3 file.
If you had choice A or B.
640 lossless or 720 lossy?

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-26-2020, 05:00 PM
themaster1 themaster1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 213
Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
lossless is better, assuming your capture need fixes
If it's a matter of disc space use UTvideo codec, it really use less space than huffyuv or lagarith
Reply With Quote
The following users thank themaster1 for this useful post: BarryTheCrab (03-28-2020)
  #6  
03-26-2020, 05:46 PM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
Thank you. It’s just a little playing around with old software,
tilting at windmills.

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-28-2020, 06:24 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
There is no detail loss capturing a VHS tape at 640 instead of 720. You do lose the ability to properly re-center the image; one side may end up a bit cropped by the capture card.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank msgohan for this useful post: BarryTheCrab (03-28-2020)
Reply




Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM