Quantcast Mini DV to Mac helppppp - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-31-2020, 07:18 PM
ascenzoa ascenzoa is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok i'm having a hard time transferring mini dv tapes to my mac. I remember doing this a few years ago with the same exact camcorder and the same exact computer and it worked fine. Did apple change their settings with recent updates? Does anyone have any advice? I've tried on fcpx, imovie, and quicktime and I can't seem to get anything to work. A couple times I got Quicktime to work but after about 5-10 seconds I'll get an error that says recording stopped try recording again.

I have a firewire to lightning, samsung camcorder, macbook pro catalina 10.15.13. I'm sitting on about 40 tapes that I want to convert onto an external hard drive (take advantage of the quarantine time). Someone also recently gave me a JVC BR-DV600U tape deck that seems to work so if someone has experience with that maybe I could go that route.

Please helppppp

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-03-2020, 02:11 AM
Winsordawson Winsordawson is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Behind you
Posts: 438
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
Did you update to a newer Mac OS during during this period? That may be it. I know I started to have problems when the old Imovie HD 5 stopped being supported on the newer updates, and Apple loves to update and leave old-timers behind. Have you tried Premiere Pro? You can get a trial for free. I would also make sure the camcorder is running on an AC line versus battery power.

Do you have a Windows machine you can use?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-03-2020, 05:34 AM
Eric-Jan Eric-Jan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Netherlands,
Posts: 348
Thanked 40 Times in 35 Posts
If all fails, and you have a vcr with DV input, you could use this as a passthrough option though you could have some quality loss this way.... but i guess you could also use the other video outputs (if any) of the miniDV camcorder...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-03-2020, 08:33 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 330 Times in 288 Posts
In addition to problematic Apple upgrades, check the available drive space and possible fragmentation, and possible background processes such as AV software. Capture to the system drive can also be problematic. These could cause issues with capture, especially if capture runs OK for short periods of time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-03-2020, 07:52 PM
Eric-Jan Eric-Jan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Netherlands,
Posts: 348
Thanked 40 Times in 35 Posts
The only problems can come from old installs, most of the time there's a uninstall option, to remove the previous version, or there's not yet a 64bit version app for the new OS, the Apple does not have the typical Windows defragmentation problems, most of the time because of the use of SSD's on Apple products...

btw your BR-DV600U unit has also component video output, capturing from this output would be ideal, this will give a clean & stable video output signal ready to capture, without any TBC. (only if this professional device can play your miniDV recorded tapes) Did you already play your tapes on the BR-DV600U unit ?
http://pro.jvc.com/prof/attributes/t...&feature_id=02

Last edited by Eric-Jan; 04-03-2020 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VHS capture with a Mac mini and AJA Io LA? jwillis84 Capture, Record, Transfer 36 10-04-2020 05:04 PM
VHS and Mini DV capturing? pingu Capture, Record, Transfer 2 08-18-2019 01:50 PM
Matrox MX02 Mini MAX waloshin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 05-08-2017 08:36 PM
S-VHS mini tape? Anyone heard of these? waloshin Capture, Record, Transfer 3 10-27-2016 06:53 AM
Any way to transfer HD Mini DV using Mini DV camcorder? waloshin Capture, Record, Transfer 4 08-31-2016 05:24 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM