digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   Choppy DV files? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/10592-choppy-dv-files.html)

bryanfreschi 05-02-2020 02:12 PM

Choppy DV files?

1 Attachment(s)
A few years ago, I transferred all of my home videos from my camcorder (miniDV tapes) to my Mac. I don't remember which software I used to transfer t he videos, and I do not have the tapes any more. Some of the DV files play fine in QuickTime, but others are choppy, and they seem sped up. Is there any way to save these videos, and make them play normally again?

I know there a lot of factors, but being that I am not a professional on the topic, I don't really know where to start on a project like this. I have attached a converted MP4 file so you can see what I am talking about

Thank you for anything you can give me,

Bryan

sanlyn 05-02-2020 03:51 PM

Didn't you post that these were miniDV files?. Why are they mp4's encoded with AVC-1? Where are the originals? How were the original MiniDV files copied (not encoded) to your Mac?

bryanfreschi 05-03-2020 02:44 PM

Re: Choppy DV Files

Sanlyn,
I have the .dv files on my Mac. Some of them play fine, the others are choppy. I was not able to upload any of them to this post, because it was giving me an error. Here is a link to the file in my Google Drive folder.

A few years ago, I used some software (possibly Aimersoft Video Transfer Software) that transferred the .dv files to my mac. I cannot say for sure that is what I used, and I do not have the tapes anymore.

Thank you for your reply!
Bryan

latreche34 05-03-2020 05:07 PM