Quantcast Converting video tapes to digital, picture not good? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-24-2020, 04:53 PM
mr19th mr19th is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey,

I'm tired of converting video tapes to digital and the picture no being very good - curved lines at the top, dropped frames, a black line on the left side of the screen. I just want to update my computer and try to fix this. It's been a while and I've been trying different things, but nothing seems to work.

I know we've talked before, lordsmurf, and I'm finally finished trying to cut corners. I have two nice VCRs, nothing special, but they play the tapes well. I just need to figure out what's needed for a video card in my computer, if another's needed, and what a decent TBC is. I see cheap prices for them, but whenever I see a cheap price, I'm 99% sure it doesn't change anything.

Right now, my computer has NVIDIA GeForce 8100 GS. Is that good, average or cheap? Does that need to be replaced, if I find a good TBC? And, what is a good TBC? I see them around, but really don't understand the differences between them.

By the way, I have 2 JVC HR-S3900U - nothing special, but they seem to play the tapes well.

Sean
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-24-2020, 10:13 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,309
Thanked 1,558 Times in 1,359 Posts
What capture card do you have now?
What sort of computer specs? OS?

TBC is a loose term, can mean almost anything. You need specific types of TBCs for conversion, not just any "TBC" you find.

Computer graphics cards do not matter.

There were no HR-S3900 units. Did you mean 3800?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-25-2020, 10:00 AM
mr19th mr19th is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay, this is where I feel like a child, but I'm not sure.

I don't know of a capture card, unless it's in the PC.

I know your first response to this, but:
Windows 7 Profession
Service Pack 1

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz 3.10 GHz
8.00 GB
64-bit Operating System
No pen

As for the TBC, I have no idea what the differences are and that's why I got lost trying to figure everything out myself.

The VCRs are JVC HR-S3900U - Here's an example:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/JVC-HR-S3900U-SUPER-VHS-S-VHS-SVHS-ET-VCR/323761260306?hash=item4b61acc712:g:sk8AAOxyCGNTMJ5 m
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-25-2020, 10:17 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 746
Thanked 170 Times in 145 Posts
How are you plugging the video output from the VCR it into the computer? There are some graphics cards that have capture functionality, including NVidia ones, but most don't. I think the 8100 GS is a graphics card that's integraded on the motherboard, can't find anything about a version of it that has capture functionality. I think there were a handful of Geforce 8xxx ones that did, but probably quire rare, it was more common in earlier iterations.

I would presume there's a video capture card in your system somewhere, there were some pre-built "media center" systems that came with them. Is there a card on the back with an antenna connector?

The 3900Us should be decent VCRs, though they lack the extra TBC/video stabilization/image processing of the higher-end models.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-25-2020, 02:47 PM
mr19th mr19th is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ahhh - I actually use a Dazzle to connect the VCR to the computer.

I expect I'm going to get a response - That's why the videos look bad!!!!

What kind of video card would you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-26-2020, 12:46 AM
lingyi lingyi is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 154
Thanked 59 Times in 46 Posts
I love the blue guy, but he frustrates me because he's too modest, careful about being accused of tooting his own horn to give the best possible buying advice. Buy from HIM! The only other person/company I would put my trust in is tgrantphoto.com (Deter) and possibly some of the longtime frequently correct advice members here or at videohelp.com

lordsmurf has everything you need, including a TBC here: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/marketplace/. Guaranteed tested and top quality, unlike 99.9% of anything you'll find elsewhere.

Yes, his prices are high, but as he says: "Use it, then resell it." If you say it was bought from him and gently used, you'll probably get the best price, at least here or at videohelp where he's well known and respected. Well, at least when he's not a grouch, which he's gotten better at! Hey...I can only bluenose the guy so much! Luv ya blue guy!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-26-2020, 07:00 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 967
Thanked 207 Times in 178 Posts
Quote:
...There were no HR-S3900 units...
Instruction Manual attached. Wonder what the "video stabilizer" setting really did?


Attached Files
File Type: pdf HR-S3900.pdf (1.07 MB, 2 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-26-2020, 01:14 PM
mr19th mr19th is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
All it does is flash at the begining. It doesn't change anything. I think that was part of their ad.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uploading Hi8 tapes to digital, gray lines in picture? Artemis399 General Discussion 3 10-17-2018 11:06 AM
Converting VHS tapes to digital format? CodeSchlocker Capture, Record, Transfer 13 07-06-2018 12:47 AM
Converting VHS tapes to Digital - which way to go? PC or Mac? Creative1 Project Planning, Workflows 3 02-12-2018 07:25 AM
Good setup for converting video and audio tapes? FrostBite Project Planning, Workflows 7 06-13-2015 05:40 PM
Newbie: Where to begin converting VHS tapes to digital ? kd19 Project Planning, Workflows 6 02-10-2012 09:42 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM