06-23-2020, 01:10 PM
Free Member

I have downloaded VirtualDub along with huffYUV. Both seem to have installed correctly. My question is now that I have VirtualDub up and running, how do I check to make sure that it's using huffYUV? I don't see it listed when I choose Video>Compression. Is that how one checks?

Since I am just getting started with VirtualDub, this will probably be the first of many questions regarding using the software for transferring VHS tapes. I've already taken the advice from this forum to make sure I'm using a high-quality workflow. Just want to make sure I'm learning this unfamiliar software correctly.

Thanks for any input!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-24-2020, 11:00 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
Downloaded VirtualDub from where?
My VirtualDub 1.9.x version from here (with filters) has no install, just unzip in a folder (I use C:\Portables) and just launch it.

If Huffyuv is not listed, it is not installed.
What OS?
How did you install Huffyuv?
There are guides in the forum for install in post-XP WinOS.
It even actually installs decently in Wine, last I knew.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
06-24-2020, 12:28 PM
Free Member

Thanks lordsmurf.

I downloaded VirtualDub from here. Your link. I realize there's no installation. I just unzipped and launched.

I am unfortunately only able to use a Win10 OS right now. That might change soon, but it's all that's available to me now.

With huffyuv, I simply right-clinked on the inf file and chose install. Didn't get an error message so I thought it was installed. I'll look for a guide to help install it correctly.

I tried capturing some VHS video on VirtualDub, but I couldn't get a decent picture. Just red and blue lines on a dark background. Apparently my hardware/software isn't playing nice together. Any advice there?