Quantcast Panasonic DMR-ES10 Causing Bouncing? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
07-04-2020, 10:03 AM
Knight15 Knight15 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello,

I am trying to digitize video8 tapes using this setup:
CCD-TR512E PAL -> (AV Composite) -> Panasonic DMR-ES10 (European) -> (AV Composite) -> Elgato Video Capture -> VirtualDub
DMR-ES10 Settings: Progressive=on, Comb Filter=on, AV line NR=off

I attached a sample capture. The addition of the ES10 helps greatly, but it sometimes introduces bouncing during damaged sections of the tape (First 5 seconds of attached clip). I am using a European version of ES10 where AV1 and AV2 are both SCART (Image Attached). I do not think that the video capture card is at fault here, since I tested the setup with a TV Screen and I saw similar results.

I tested different input ports of ES-10: AV3 (front) and AV4 (back). I also tested the output ports: AV out, S-Video, AV2 (SCART). They all exhibit the same behavior.

Why does the ES-10 introduce bouncing? What is the easiest way to reduce it?

Thanks a lot.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg DMR-ES10 European.jpg (53.4 KB, 9 downloads)
Attached Files
File Type: mp4 Sample_withES10.mp4 (12.75 MB, 11 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-05-2020, 05:18 PM
Eric-Jan Eric-Jan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Netherlands,
Posts: 276
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
If you are not using HDMI or component video out, progressive mode has no use on composite or s-video out.
Your bouncing image is due damage of your tape, this is normal) noise in the image is partly compensated, but with sync damaged your image bounces, you can do little about this, other then not capture the damaged parts, if you could capture over your component video output, it would not help also, is my guess, if this where an option, then in progressive mode (component video out) whould eventually filter out macrovision, if needed.. capture will not be interrupted also. (i'm using a Intensity Shuttle & DMR-ES35V)
btw. you can also set different options on all the video in and outputs, check manual

the not bouncing is just because your capture device is more forgiving on the sync loss then your dvd recorder is as passthrough, this is only to blame on the quality of the tape, not the devices.

Last edited by Eric-Jan; 07-05-2020 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Eric-Jan for this useful post: Knight15 (07-06-2020)
Reply




Tags
bouncing, panasonic dmr es-10 es-25, video 8

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking recapping for Panasonic DMR-ES10 cbehr91 Video Hardware Repair 1 03-06-2019 06:55 PM
Panasonic ES10/15 in PAL in Australia? via Email or PM Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 07-25-2014 07:52 AM
Using Panasonic ES10 DVD as a Passthrough RABinMS Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 7 07-20-2014 06:50 AM
Internal TBC VCR or HQ Non-TBC VCR + Panasonic DMR-ES10? LukeS Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 10-25-2011 04:06 AM
Question on the Panasonic DMR-ES10 mrwhitethc Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 04-13-2008 07:30 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM