Quantcast Camcorder choice for Hi8/Video8 with TBC? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-13-2020, 06:57 PM
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 175
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
Being in possession of a TBC-1000 and ES-15, and in need of V8 and Hi8, (and possibly D8) capture, would I still need TBC in my camcorder?

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-13-2020, 07:12 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,658
Thanked 1,647 Times in 1,429 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryTheCrab View Post
Being in possession of a TBC-1000 and ES-15, and in need of V8 and Hi8, (and possibly D8) capture, would I still need TBC in my camcorder?
Need? No. The ES15 can take the place of it (for this specific Hi8/V8 workflow).

But line TBC in the camera will be superior to the ES15, in that it has no side effects. Tearing from Video8/Hi8 is unlikely, uncommon.

Ideal workflow = camera with line TBC > TBC-1000 > capture card

The with-TBC Hi8 cameras are just generally better anyway.
Video8 cameras are lousy.
Digital8 also generally better, but other factors can determine how ideal it is.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-13-2020, 07:27 PM
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 175
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
The digital8, do none have TBC?

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-13-2020, 07:54 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,658
Thanked 1,647 Times in 1,429 Posts
I think most Digital8 do have TBCs.

But the bigger issue is that some Digital8 cameras may output analog over DV, which incurs loss. Watch for that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: BarryTheCrab (09-13-2020)
  #5  
09-14-2020, 03:28 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 938
Thanked 123 Times in 116 Posts
D8 camcorders don't have a true analog output, They read analog tapes RF signal, then an ADC chip digitizes it for TBC, from there it splits into two outputs, one output goes to a DV encoder chip for firewire, another output goes to a DAC chip for S-Video and composite outputs, This would not matter if line TBC to be used anyway. Unlike Hi8 and V8 when you turn TBC off the path is analog, it is not the case for D8.

I personally never used a camcorder without TBC, but just to be aware of the difference between D8 and Hi8/V8.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-14-2020, 05:00 AM
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 175
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
Would the DCR-TRV-320 be a good choice?

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-14-2020, 10:33 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 938
Thanked 123 Times in 116 Posts
Read the user manual, that's the only way to find out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-14-2020, 12:11 PM
hodgey hodgey is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 846
Thanked 185 Times in 158 Posts
Yeah that one is decent, TBC/DNR and S-VIdeo + stereo audio out, which are the important bits.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-15-2020, 05:12 PM
cbehr91 cbehr91 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 74
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Any of the models listed here will have a better TBC than the TBCish found in a DMR10/15.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
09-23-2020, 07:28 PM
motivus motivus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lordsmurf, you wrote--
> Ideal workflow = camera with line TBC > TBC-1000 > capture card

I have the Sony EV-C200 Hi8 deck without an internal TBC. As a result, I bought the AVT-8710 TBC. I'm having some sync problems (as described in my other post).

Are you saying I would be better off capturing from a Hi8 camcorder with a built in TBC? Can one capture from a Canon Hi8 tape using a Sony camcorder? Vice versa?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: PAL Video8 and Hi8 camcorder with line TBC EmielBoss Marketplace 0 01-21-2020 04:06 PM
Digitising Video8 Hi8: original camcorder or Digital8 camcorder? sverice42 Capture, Record, Transfer 7 08-05-2019 10:08 AM
FS: Sony DCR-T8000E Digital8 (Video8/Hi8) camcorder [SOLD] juhok Marketplace 11 12-31-2017 08:22 AM
Video8 tape losing picture, played on a Digital8 camcorder. digicube Capture, Record, Transfer 0 09-11-2016 04:57 PM
Video8 camcorder audio buzz fix! frank_aspen Capture, Record, Transfer 2 11-19-2012 11:09 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM