Quantcast Capture composite video from Pinnacle 330e with VirtualDub? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
09-26-2020, 03:07 PM
hans80 hans80 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi there,

I'd appreciate if you could help me with my question.

I have a Pinnacle USB Stick 330e connected to my old Windows Vista laptop and would like to capture a video from a Composite Video input (backup VHS videos). Tried to use VirtualDub with no luck so far and always with a message "Unable to start video capture". Any ideas?

This card works very well as a dvb-t tuner with an official app but TV Center software doesn't give access to the composite video input and captures dvb-t TV data only.

I dont't have any experience with capturing videos on a PC so I'm stuck and need help from some experts.

Cheers,
Karol
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-26-2020, 03:59 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,786
Thanked 1,667 Times in 1,448 Posts
The post-XP capture drivers are very buggy. This card only reliably works in Windows XP.

This card isn't made by Pinnacle, but "add-badged" (not rebadged) for whatever reason. It's a PCTV card.

It's a shame, because it was a decent card.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-27-2020, 03:02 AM
hans80 hans80 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah, that's probably true, but I remember that some 7-8 years ago I did manage to capture videos with this card and the same Vista laptop. However I don't remember what software I used and in the meantime I had to reinstall Vista OS so no traces in the system of the previous, working configuration...
Any other open source software I could try or ideas how to make virtual dub to work with the 330e?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-27-2020, 06:23 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 97
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Try amarectv.

Use your own codec; I have installed Lagarith.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-28-2020, 02:34 PM
hans80 hans80 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks, I've tried but failed and gave up on using Vista. Seems that with age I loose patients... ��
Gave my VERY old XP laptop a shot and succeeded to some extent. Drivers installed without any problem and I used VLC to preview some content (VHS but also hd satellite TV programs). The quality was very nice during the preview but significantly worse after capturing the content. Hard to describe the quality in words but the image was a bit shaky and not as crisp as the preview. Still playable but like with added a lot of compression to the image. Maybe I'm still doing something wrong or maybe that's the limitation of the processing power of my old hardware.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
capture, composite, pinnacle, virtualdub

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 10 64-bit Pinnacle-710: No S-video Preview in VirtualDub BruceOlsen Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-02-2020 12:01 AM
Pinnacle MovieBox freezing with VirtualDub capturing? ofesad Capture, Record, Transfer 15 03-17-2019 04:15 PM
Confirmed: Pinnacle 500-USB works with VirtualDub! latreche34 Capture, Record, Transfer 29 05-15-2016 01:03 AM
ATI MMC vs. VirtualDub, Huffyuv? Pinnacle vs ATI? SinghDk Capture, Record, Transfer 11 05-02-2015 04:07 AM
BNC composite better than S-Video? vidz_man01 Video Hardware Repair 9 02-18-2015 08:00 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM