Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-03-2020, 03:30 PM
Free Member

Hi everyone,

Ive been getting stuck in to this amazing forum but i fear my head is about to explode.

Im a complete novice at capturing VHS but im in dyer need of capturing 243 classic skateboard videos.

Dont shoot me down to bad but i bought a £10 USB converter cable which comes with software haha.. Ive captured 5/6 videos to .mpg but there obviously pretty bad quality and i dont want to carry on without improving this.

Ive read about:

S-VHS VCRs
single amplifiers
vhs converter
virtualDub software

I guess my question is as a hobbyest what would be a good setup without breaking the bank?

Thanks for your help, ill be reading some more tonight..

-- merged --

Ok I’ve decided to dig deep and go for a JVC HR TBC VCR. If anything I can use it for my tapes and sell it.

My tapes are a mix of PAL and NTSC, is there a machine I should be concentrating on?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-04-2020, 04:30 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
The only VCRs that play both PAL and NTSC are low-end (yet expensive) consumer decks made by Panasonic (and rebadged by others like Samsung). With the exception of a rare, impossible-to-find JVC deck.

So you'd want to get both a quality NTSC deck, and a quality PAL deck.

Most of the JVC with-TBC S-VHS models are what you want.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
10-04-2020, 04:44 AM
Free Member

Thanks, problem is most of the videos don’t have an indication of what they are haha
10-04-2020, 04:46 AM
Free Member