Quantcast VirtualDub captures VHS tapes at 352x480? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
11-07-2020, 02:00 AM
Glitchy Windows 3.1 Glitchy Windows 3.1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 47
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello,

This is an update to previous threads have made concerning virtualdub not working on Windows 10 (thread here VirtualDub always crashing on Windows 10? ). And to summarize what I was going to do was that I was going to use a Windows 7 laptop but had an administrator password that was asked when installing drivers. With that being said, I got another Windows 7 laptop (broken screen but works when plugged to external monitor.

As of writing this thread, I have used virtualdub's capturing and it worked well with no crashes nor non-responsive non-sense. Now as you can tell from the title it does have one, fixable, but somewhat annoying problem. It captures VHS tapes at a resolution of 352 x 480 which looks like a rectangle. (See attachment "Original capture")

Now like I said, it is very fixable as I can just go into my video editing program and switch it to 480 x 352. (see attachment "corrected in video editing program") However, it is rather annoying to do that all the time and was wondering if there was a way to fix that minor, inconvenient, issue. Now if it cannot be fixed or is something I have to live with well it is fine with me but was just wondering if there is a way to fix it.

Secondly, I don't remember what thread it was but there was a user who sent this video ( https://youtu.be/sn_TDa9zY1c ). But I do remember LordSmurf saying there was some methods or steps he did no cover on which made me want to ask if there was a thread that covers on deinterlacing and other "techniques" to make the VHS footage better.


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 original capture.mp4 (9.43 MB, 2 downloads)
File Type: mp4 corrected in video editing program.mp4 (8.51 MB, 2 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-07-2020, 02:08 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
You never use 480x352, that's compliant to nothing.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-07-2020, 02:50 AM
Glitchy Windows 3.1 Glitchy Windows 3.1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 47
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
You never use 480x352, that's compliant to nothing.
Then what should I use for the resolution?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-07-2020, 02:53 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
For NTSC, an x480, probably 640x480 if you want 4x3 AR.
352x480 is valid, different AR is all.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
11-07-2020, 03:00 AM
Glitchy Windows 3.1 Glitchy Windows 3.1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 47
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
For NTSC, an x480, probably 640x480 if you want 4x3 AR.
352x480 is valid, different AR is all.
I don't recall seeing a 640x480 option in the video settings. As I believe I went to video > capture pin and then change the resolution to whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
11-07-2020, 03:04 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
capture mode
Video > set custom format
Ideally, you'll use 720x480 for capture.
But 640x480 can be done. Most editors will rightfully say that is an invalid resolution, however.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restoring 8mm/Hi8/VHS VirtualDub captures? willow5 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 35 03-26-2019 09:46 PM
Unattended VirtualDub captures? via Email or PM Capture, Record, Transfer 4 08-06-2017 11:28 AM
Set aspect ratio in VirtualDub for 352x480 premiumcapture Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 12-27-2013 08:52 PM
352x480 vs 720x480 for VHS captures premiumcapture Capture, Record, Transfer 6 12-27-2013 11:04 AM
Capture resolution choice - 352x480 not in VirtualDub options Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 1 09-28-2013 06:52 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM