Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
04-18-2024, 05:19 PM
Free Member

Hi All -

Newbie here and getting a bit frustrated. I have some tapes I am working on converting and the seem to have bad "spots" that cause the whole tape to lose the video signal on my capture software.

If I fast forward well past the "bad spot" then rewind to slightly before, I can capture video without issue. But if I just try to play over that "bad spot" it knocks out my video signal until I take intervention to resolve.

I'm fairly sure it's an issue with the tapes as a few of them aren't in the best of shape.

Some I can guess that they were converted to VHS from a Camcorder. (unsure of those details). I know a lot can go wrong with bad VHS-C > VHS conversions. I don't have the original tapes nor the original camcorder.

Any advice on this one?

I am running on a newly repaired HR-S7900U, I've also had these tapes in other lesser players and had similar issues with capture where these "bad spots" occurred (but were masked by other bigger issues I had in my workflow at the time.

Any thoughts, advice or pointers for me here? Please remember I am a newbie to this and still learning so I'd ask if you could be a tad detailed or avoid using acronyms (but don't worry not afraid of doing my own research).

Thank you kindly in advance for any assistance you are able to give.

-Meg
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-18-2024, 09:21 PM
Free Member

Good news! I was able to get this to where I can move forward!

I added my frame TBC to the mix and it at least seems to be able to get the video signal to continue after the "bad spots" are passed. I'm dealing with some old tapes that were not stored in their original sleeves and they aren't in the best shape, so I think we are in business for now.

Any additional thoughts/feedback is welcome.
04-18-2024, 09:37 PM
Free Member