Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-11-2010, 10:39 PM
Free Member

I'm still learning all of the details of video capture and have noticed that when I capture composite video especially with my dazzle usb device, I get wide bands of color noise in my picture. It isn't especially noticeable all of the time but at times it is and looks awful. I took a black frame from a capture that looked pretty good, and when I boosted the mids way up, out came the color. Is this normal? It seems to be from the capture device splitting up the signal or something as the dazzle with nothing attached gives a pure black image, and the LD player attached to another capture card gives similar but more numerous awful bands that are even more distracting, leading me to guess it is the y/c separation of the cards that are at fault. S-video does not suffer from these effects.

Here is a dark frame captured w/ the dazzle:

and the same capture with mids boosted in photoshop:
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-12-2010, 11:15 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
This may be standard chroma noise.
What Laserdisc player is being used?
What type of wires are you using? (s-video or composite)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
09-13-2010, 12:09 AM
Free Member

the caps above are with my D704 player and they are from the composite output. if I use s-video I don't get the bands but I get that weird s-video effect that looks like tiny brush strokes over the entire frame, plus it renders my detailer and proc amp (which only have composite jacks) useless. Here is a nearly identical frame to the one used above, and again with mids boosted, from an S-Video capture: