Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-27-2021, 04:05 PM
Free Member

I am a photographer/videographer but have never done any analog capture before. I had bought a BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 a couple years back for an HDMI input device (I know many say this is a terrible device for analog). Had the same problems other have had with black frames and "dirty" signal. I was thinking about buying a TBC SVHS player but them remembered the Kramer units I used to use when I did some work with a production company. I picked up a Kramer VP 728 on Ebay for $45. 4 Analog inputs, 2 HDMI inputs, HDMI out. It definitely solves the black frames and flickers problems as it has a built in TBC and also deinterlaces.

A quick search on this forum for Kramer did not show a lot of results. I know Kramer is well respected and makes production grade stuff. Anyone here using Kramer units for VHS capture? There are a ton of them available cheap on Ebay and they are cheaper than a high end VCR these days. Or maybe there is a reason nobody seems to use them

My other question is: The Kramer can output whatever I want from 480 to 1080 I and P in a variety of framerates. Would it be best to to take the 59.94 I signal in and covert to 720 30P in the Kramer before capture? And then let Davinci Resolve upscale to 1080p? There would seem to be no advantage to capturing beyond 30fps or is there? Not really happy with the capture options for BM Media Express, the AVI YUV are uncompressed and ridiculous in size, but the AVI Motion Jpg is too punchy and blows out highlight detail. I have settled on the Quicktime DVCPro HD, much bigger files than needed but better dynamic range. Hoping someone using similar equipment will share their workflow, I have been reading posts here for weeks and learning a lot. Thanks!