Quantcast Doubled audio tracks in capture? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-09-2021, 10:30 AM
digibrarian digibrarian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm trying to convert several VHS tapes to DVD, and I'm having issues with sound quality. I'm using an iMac with a BlackMagic Ultrastudio HD Mini capture device, a Panasonic AG-1350 VCR, and BlackMagic Media Express. I've been using iMovie and Final Cut Pro to edit the videos once they've been captured.

At first, I thought it was just a crackling/garbled noise in the background of sections of each film. After toying with the volume, I noticed that it is actually an echo of the audio track- same words/music replayed and slightly delayed. The same thing occurred when I tried using a different VCR. I'm learning as I go with all of this, so I have no experience with correcting this sort of problem.

What could be causing it, and how can I fix it?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-09-2021, 12:48 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 233 Times in 215 Posts
The first thing you do is try to listen to the VCR out via an external amplifier, Headphone or TV speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-09-2021, 04:43 PM
digibrarian digibrarian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sound quality was fine when tested on a tv.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-09-2021, 09:17 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 233 Times in 215 Posts
In that case possible audio driver issue, maybe the OS audio driver is back feeding the capture card's audio feed into recording and slightly leaking to the playback stage, Try to disable all OS audio features, like microphone, input ..etc, just leave the capture's card audio input.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-10-2021, 03:16 PM
digibrarian digibrarian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After disabling the iOS audio, I'm still having the same issue. Could it be the capture device? I feel like that's the only variable here that I haven't tested against something else.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-10-2021, 08:40 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,133
Thanked 254 Times in 218 Posts
Can you post a short sample of the sound, something with some sharp, short sounds?

Are you capturing via thunderbolt, HDMI, or SDI?

Can you tell us the exact connections?

Probably not your issue, but some folks have complained of audio issues when they were hearing a mix of the direct analog sound and sound out put in a digital or HDMI stream, which is delayed by the latency of the system.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-01-2021, 12:22 PM
digibrarian digibrarian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry for the delay!

I was going to go a new route with a new piece of equipment, but my supervisor would like me to exhaust all other avenues first...

I've attached an MP4 clip with the sound in it. The sound is not constant. The video usually starts out fine, and then the sound develops and either comes and goes or persists. I've also attached pictures of my connections. The only thing going from the Black Magic device to the iMac is a thunderbolt cable. I've tried using HDMI as well, but had the same issues.

Any ideas?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210301_114354.jpg (64.6 KB, 5 downloads)
File Type: jpg 20210301_114300.jpg (39.6 KB, 4 downloads)
Attached Files
File Type: mp4 ._My Movie.mp4 (4.0 KB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
03-01-2021, 12:35 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 233 Times in 215 Posts
Your video file is corrupted and too small (4KB).

Anyway one more test to isolate the problem for good, Connect a HDMI cable from the capture device to the TV and listen to the sound, If the sound is clear it's your computer, if not it's the capture device.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
03-01-2021, 12:55 PM
digibrarian digibrarian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'll try that. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Output/capture multiple VHS audio tracks simultaneously? moxiecat Capture, Record, Transfer 20 01-10-2021 01:37 PM
S-VHS VCR for audio tracks? seymour22 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 10-28-2017 07:26 PM
VHS has two different audio tracks - why? confusedperson Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-20-2016 03:20 PM
Why the JVC BR-S378U won't play mono audio tracks? jbd5010 Capture, Record, Transfer 5 04-07-2011 07:36 AM
Does the AC3 and/or DVD Video standard support mono audio tracks? NJRoadfan Encode, Convert for discs 4 12-12-2010 11:07 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM