Quantcast Unintended black borders - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-04-2021, 07:41 PM
lucasmontagnana lucasmontagnana is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dear DigitalFAQ Members,

Thanks to you I am very close to an acceptable workflow! My current equipament are: a LG VHS player > DMR-ES15 > Capture Card > Windows 10. As my attached example shows, there have been some issues on the way.
My main concern is that all captures have a black border, even sometimes the left edge is bit thicker. At first I suspected it was the overscan but transfering directly from the VCR eliminate the issue, could it be solved by adjusting some settings? My hunch is that it's caused by the DMR-ES15.
Also, all videos are displaying what looks like random noise. Shouldn't the DNR option remove those issues?

Thanks in advance!


Attached Images
File Type: png Issue1.png (593.8 KB, 27 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-04-2021, 07:44 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,681
Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,616 Posts
That's overscan.

And why is that image so ugly noisy?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: lucasmontagnana (03-04-2021)
  #3  
03-04-2021, 08:45 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,440
Thanked 233 Times in 215 Posts
All analog tapes have black and noise borders on all 4 sides, Line TBC change it's thickness slightly to the best or the worst but it cannot remove it, You just have to live with it or mask it, You can however remove 16 pixels in total from left and right sides of the frame while staying within the legal resolution and then just mask the remaining.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: lucasmontagnana (03-04-2021)
  #4  
03-09-2021, 05:51 PM
lucasmontagnana lucasmontagnana is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Firstly, thanks lordsmurf!
That was driving me nuts and it's good to know there's nothing wrong in that regard.

Honestly, I don't have a clue why it's so noisy, usually it's a mostly clean signal, as seen on the attachment. Now I'm worried about those faint horizontal lines throughout the picture. After some research, I suspected it's chroma/luma crosstalk, however, examples show diagonal lines intead of straight horizontal lines.

But what do you think? Please, I'd really appreciate your appraisal.


Attached Images
File Type: png Issue2.png (522.3 KB, 8 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
black borders, dmr-es15, dnr, vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Determining borders after Avisynth StabMod? koberulz Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 12-13-2017 03:52 PM
DVD-R with black spots? Neves Blank Media 3 03-02-2014 11:13 PM
Can VHS tapes sit on a shelf too long? Borders on tapes? kpmedia Capture, Record, Transfer 0 03-22-2010 03:54 PM
Why Black & White capture ? Sujit Capture, Record, Transfer 4 05-23-2005 08:27 AM
Black bars jrnyhead Encode, Convert for discs 3 04-07-2004 12:26 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM