Quantcast Any differences in Video8 workflow compared to Hi8? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-29-2021, 03:45 AM
EmielBoss's Avatar
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 82
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My setup for capturing PAL Hi8 is:
Sony CCD-TR825E (TBC On) --S-Video--> ES15 --S-Video--> AVT-8710 --S-Video--> Pinnacle 710-USB --USB--> Windows XP/VirtualDub

Would I have to do anything different if I want to capture Video8? As far as I have read, I should still capture at 720x576 @ 25 fps. Anything else I'm missing?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-29-2021, 01:25 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,134
Thanked 365 Times in 335 Posts
You should always capture with basic components and add as necessary:
Sony CCD-TR825E (TBC On) --S-Video --> Pinnacle 710-USB --USB--> Windows XP/VirtualDub

Then fix accordingly based on the artifact you have whether it be frame or line errors. In your current setup you are doing 5 signal conversions:
Camcorder -- Analog --> Digital --> Analog --> Digital --> Analog --> Digital --> VirtualDub

V8 is no different from any other analog tape based format.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: EmielBoss (03-29-2021)
  #3  
03-29-2021, 03:36 PM
EmielBoss's Avatar
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 82
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks! I thought a frame TBC was deemed essential in every workflow, but I'll run a capture without it and see what happens!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-29-2021, 06:52 PM
EmielBoss's Avatar
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 82
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Left without AVT-8710, right with AVT-8710:

Capture.jpg

The colors are more saturated, and I like that there is less black border

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Here I actually prefer the colors with AVT-8710, as they're less overblown. There is slightly less visible with AVT-8710.

Capture2.jpg

The big problem with capturing without AVT-8710, however, is that in some scenes, the video shifts up so much that it clips the top part. Is there any way to mitigate this?


Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-29-2021, 11:04 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,134
Thanked 365 Times in 335 Posts
Do you see the frame shift if connected directly to a flat panel TV, I know you can't see it with built in camera LCD screen or CRT TV because they have enormous amount of overscan.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: EmielBoss (03-30-2021)
  #6  
03-30-2021, 07:48 AM
EmielBoss's Avatar
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 82
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
No, the shifting doesn't happen if connected directly to a flat panel TV (it only has component input, but if I capture with component input, the shifting also happens, so I assume this to also hold for S-Video). I tried another Sony camcorder (CCD-TR820E) for which the shifting also happens, and a Canon camcorder that doesn't have line TBC, for which the shifting didn't happen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-30-2021, 11:02 AM
EmielBoss's Avatar
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 82
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'm just gonna keep using the ES15 and AVT-8710, because then the image doesn't shift, the colors aren't oversaturated, and I do not notice and quality degradation due to all the conversions.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
hi8, pal, resolution, video8, workflow

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIW AGP WinXP vs. ATI 600 or VC500 OS X differences? thefrog1394 Capture, Record, Transfer 20 01-24-2021 04:20 PM
Video8 and Hi8 capture workflow? davidprosser Project Planning, Workflows 3 12-31-2020 10:38 AM
What's going on with my AG-1980? Compared with JVC V10U andymation Capture, Record, Transfer 0 04-14-2019 04:39 AM
TBC differences on DVHS decks? AndyO6322 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-22-2013 12:14 AM
BVP-4 vs BVP-4 Plus. Any major differences? Tuco Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 14 05-23-2011 08:27 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM